The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 03, 2019, 11:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
BR Passing Obstructed Runner

R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 03, 2019, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.

Any thoughts?
Seems like there was no base running error after all.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 03, 2019, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.

Any thoughts?
I don't see any difference.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 04, 2019, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
I guess I was thinking, if anything, the OBS gives the runners MORE time to see their impending running mistake. But, the OBS rule is black and white regarding the OBS'ed runner and all other runners affected by the OBS.

Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 04, 2019, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Fremont, NH
Posts: 1,386
Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

Then what would happen if the batter (now runner) ended up being tagged out between first and second?

I believe we've discussed (or I've seen somewhere) that if an OBS'd runner is injured and then gets passed by another runner(s), the call is that the passing runner is declared out, ball remains live (unless it was the third out), and if the injured OBS'd runner is tagged out, time is called and all runners placed where they should be absent the OBS. That would include placing the runner(s) who had passed the injured player.
__________________
Ted
USA & NFHS Softball
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 04, 2019, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu View Post
Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

Then what would happen if the batter (now runner) ended up being tagged out between first and second?

I believe we've discussed (or I've seen somewhere) that if an OBS'd runner is injured and then gets passed by another runner(s), the call is that the passing runner is declared out, ball remains live (unless it was the third out), and if the injured OBS'd runner is tagged out, time is called and all runners placed where they should be absent the OBS. That would include placing the runner(s) who had passed the injured player.
Please find where you saw that, unlikely I think.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Mar 04, 2019, 01:58pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
I don't recall ever seeing any exceptions to the rule that states a runner who passes an obstructed runner is not out.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstructed Runner blueump Softball 8 Thu May 12, 2016 09:46am
Trailing runner tagged out after lead runner is obstructed sbatten Softball 22 Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:47pm
Batter Passing Obstructed Runner MNBlue Softball 2 Fri Mar 09, 2012 12:33am
Passing an obstructed runner SRW Softball 17 Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:25am
Obstructed Runner on an Out blueump Baseball 10 Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1