The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 08:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Obstructed Runner

2 outs with a runner on second. Ground ball goes to F1 who easily throws them out. During the the play however, the runner going to 3rd, completely away from the play, is obstructed by the shortstop. Where are the runners placed in NFHS?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,293
The bases the umpire judges all runners would have reached absent the obstruction
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 08:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKBUmp View Post
The bases the umpire judges all runners would have reached absent the obstruction
So, if in the judgement of the umpire, the BR would still have been out without the obstruction? Or would the BR be awarded 1st base?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 08:52pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,410
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump View Post
2 outs with a runner on second. Ground ball goes to F1 who easily throws them out. During the the play however, the runner going to 3rd, completely away from the play, is obstructed by the shortstop. Where are the runners placed in NFHS?

If there are two outs with R1 on 2B, how can F1 throw "them" out?

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 08:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,293
Iwho was obstructed? If the batter runner was the runner put out and it was the lead runner who was obstructed then they were not affected and would remain out.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 09:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
I apologize for not painting a better word picture. The BR grounded the pitch to F1 who threw the BR out at first. The obstruction was away from the play, between 2nd and 3rd on the runner on 2nd.

Since it had no bearing on the play, we didn't call the obstruction. Just wondering if we got it right?
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 09:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,293
Then the inning is over. The batter runner was not affected by the obstruction and the out stands.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 11, 2016, 10:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueump View Post
I apologize for not painting a better word picture. The BR grounded the pitch to F1 who threw the BR out at first. The obstruction was away from the play, between 2nd and 3rd on the runner on 2nd.

Since it had no bearing on the play, we didn't call the obstruction. Just wondering if we got it right?
You call the obstruction because it happened, but it has no effect.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 12, 2016, 09:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,662
I will place the runners in the dugout since the half inning is over with the out at first base.

Yes, you call the obstruction on the runner going from second to third, but as as been said, there is nothing to enforce here.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trailing runner tagged out after lead runner is obstructed sbatten Softball 22 Fri Jun 01, 2012 10:47pm
Obstructed Runner blueump Softball 5 Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:21pm
hurt obstructed runner shipwreck Softball 3 Sat Jul 11, 2009 09:01am
Passing an obstructed runner SRW Softball 17 Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:25am
Obstructed Runner on an Out blueump Baseball 10 Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1