
Sun Mar 03, 2019, 06:10pm
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka
R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.
Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.
My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.
Any thoughts?
|
I don't see any difference.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|