The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2012, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 741
Send a message via Yahoo to MNBlue
Batter Passing Obstructed Runner

Please answer for ASA.

I don't have my ASA book handy - what is the ruling in the the following scenario:

R1 is on 1B with no outs. B2 hits a gapper to right field. R1 is obstructed by the 2nd base person and is knocked to the ground. B2 passes the R1 between 1B 2B.

In ASA, is B2 out?



NFHS and NCAA have the same basic ruling:

NCAA:
12-9-3 When she physically passes (that is, completely overtakes) a preceding base runner before that base runner has been put out, unless the passed base runner was obstructed.

NFHS:
ART. 4 . . . The runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner has been put out. If this was the third out of the inning, any runs scoring prior to the out for passing a preceding runner would count. A runner(s) passing a preceding obstructed runner, as in 8-4-3b Penalty c, is not out.
__________________
Mark

NFHS, NCAA, NAFA
"If the rule you followed brought you to this, of what use was the rule?" Anton Chigurh - "No Country for Old Men"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 08, 2012, 10:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,560
Quote:
Originally Posted by MNBlue View Post
Please answer for ASA.

I don't have my ASA book handy - what is the ruling in the the following scenario:

R1 is on 1B with no outs. B2 hits a gapper to right field. R1 is obstructed by the 2nd base person and is knocked to the ground. B2 passes the R1 between 1B 2B.

In ASA, is B2 out?
Initial answer is yes, but you need to finish the scenario for a final answer.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 09, 2012, 12:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 957
I think what Irish is getting to is in ASA there is no exception for a runner being allowed to pass an obstructed runner. So B2 would be out when they pass R1, but then would be awarded the base they would have obtained had there not be obstruction. As the rule states, the obstructed runner and all other runners are awarded the base(s) they would have obtained had there not been obstruction. So in this case the out is basically removed by the obstruction.

So proper mechanics for this play would be signal delayed dead ball when the obstruction of R1 occurs, signal an out when B2 passes R1 (live ball out), then signal dead ball when the obstructed runner is put out, or all play is completed. Once the ball is dead, award all runners the bases they would have obtained had there been no obstruction. Probably not enough detail to judge this, but I will assume R1 at least to 3rd and B2 at 2nd (at least) from the way I read B2 passing R1 on their way to 2B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Obstructed Runner blueump Softball 5 Sun Jan 17, 2010 08:21pm
hurt obstructed runner shipwreck Softball 3 Sat Jul 11, 2009 09:01am
Obstructed runner contacts defender WestMichBlue Softball 3 Fri May 16, 2008 05:17pm
Passing an obstructed runner SRW Softball 17 Wed Jul 11, 2007 10:25am
Obstructed Runner on an Out blueump Baseball 10 Tue May 22, 2007 03:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1