The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   BR Passing Obstructed Runner (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/104425-br-passing-obstructed-runner.html)

jmkupka Sun Mar 03, 2019 11:03am

BR Passing Obstructed Runner
 
R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.

Any thoughts?

Tru_in_Blu Sun Mar 03, 2019 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1030825)
R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.

Any thoughts?

Seems like there was no base running error after all.

CecilOne Sun Mar 03, 2019 06:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 1030825)
R1 is on 2B with one out. B2 hits a long fly ball to right center. R2, thinking there are two outs, begins to advance toward 3B as soon as the ball is hit. 3B coach shouts to R1 to return to 2B and tag up. R1 is obstructed by F6 as she is moving back toward 2B, F8 and F9 fail to catch the ball and then R1 is passed by B2 between 2B and 3B.

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

My thought was, this should be ruled differently from the standard "R1 is rounding 3b, is obstructed, and is then passed by BR", since R1 is headed back to 2B to correct a running error.

Any thoughts?

I don't see any difference.

jmkupka Mon Mar 04, 2019 07:14am

I guess I was thinking, if anything, the OBS gives the runners MORE time to see their impending running mistake. But, the OBS rule is black and white regarding the OBS'ed runner and all other runners affected by the OBS.

Thanks guys.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Mar 04, 2019 08:04am

Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

Then what would happen if the batter (now runner) ended up being tagged out between first and second?

I believe we've discussed (or I've seen somewhere) that if an OBS'd runner is injured and then gets passed by another runner(s), the call is that the passing runner is declared out, ball remains live (unless it was the third out), and if the injured OBS'd runner is tagged out, time is called and all runners placed where they should be absent the OBS. That would include placing the runner(s) who had passed the injured player.

CecilOne Mon Mar 04, 2019 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 1030832)
Our interpreter rules that the OBS protects the BR from being called out.

Then what would happen if the batter (now runner) ended up being tagged out between first and second?

I believe we've discussed (or I've seen somewhere) that if an OBS'd runner is injured and then gets passed by another runner(s), the call is that the passing runner is declared out, ball remains live (unless it was the third out), and if the injured OBS'd runner is tagged out, time is called and all runners placed where they should be absent the OBS. That would include placing the runner(s) who had passed the injured player.

Please find where you saw that, unlikely I think. :confused:

Manny A Mon Mar 04, 2019 01:58pm

I don't recall ever seeing any exceptions to the rule that states a runner who passes an obstructed runner is not out.

DaveASA/FED Mon Mar 04, 2019 04:06pm

NFHS rules has that exception to not call a runner out that passes an obstructed runner. USA Softball does not have an exception.

Rule 8-6-4(NFHS)
ART. 4 . . . The runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner has been put out. If this was the third out of the inning, any runs scoring prior to the out for passing a preceding runner would count. A runner(s) passing a preceding obstructed runner is not out. (8-4-3b PENALTY c)

Manny A Mon Mar 04, 2019 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED (Post 1030856)
NFHS rules has that exception to not call a runner out that passes an obstructed runner. USA Softball does not have an exception.

Yes, it is not mentioned in the USA rule book. But there is this from the March 2016 Plays and Clarifications:

Quote:

Play: R1 is on 1B with two outs. B4 hits the ball to the outfield and it rolls past the outfielders to the fence. R1 rounds 2B and is obstructed by F6 and goes down to the ground unable to resume running the bases. Obstruction was called. B4 passes R1 and is thrown out at the plate for the third out. No ruling was made until the out was made at the plate.

Ruling: When R1 was obstructed the umpire would signal delayed dead ball. There are two possible rulings.

One: If R1 is passed before the umpire can signal dead ball due to an injured player, then once B4 passed R1 time should have been called since this was now the third out. Rule 8, Section 7D Effect 2. We should then enforce the obstruction and award the bases the runner and batter-runner would have reached had there been no obstruction.
Two: If the umpire determined R1 was injured and, in the umpire’s judgement, requires immediate attention prior to B4 passing the runner, the umpire should have called Dead Ball and awarded the injured player and all other runners the base they would have reached in their judgement. Rule 4, Section 10.
So while not specifically citing it, USA Softball recognizes that a runner who passes an obstructed runner is affected by the obstruction, and is afforded the same protection by virtue of the language that "the obstructed runner and all other runners shall always be awarded the base or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire's judgment, had there been no obstruction."

IRISHMAFIA Tue Mar 05, 2019 10:49pm

This is a change in interpretation for ASA about 6-7 years ago. It used to be that the trailing runners had to be smart enough to know they couldn't pass another active runner. Of course, the rule already provided for an allowance of awarded bases if affected by the OBS.

Apparently, the coaches, runners and umpires just couldn't grasp that, so they just changed the interpretation. Don't believe the rule was ever changed to provide other runners protection, just the awarding of the appropriate bases should they be affected by the OBS

Insane Blue Tue Mar 05, 2019 11:52pm

NFHS Casebook
8.6.4 SITUATION E: With R1 on second and R2 on first, B3 hits a ball safely to
the outfield fence. After R1 takes off from second, she is obstructed by F6 and
knocked down and may be injured. The umpire signals obstruction on F6. Both
R2 and B3 pass R1 (who is still on the ground) and subsequently score. F8 finally throws the ball to F6 who tags R1 between second and third base. RULING:
There is no infraction assessed for passing a runner. Both R1 and R2 score on
the play. R1 is awarded home and scores, as this is the base she would have
achieved had there been no obstruction.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1