![]() |
|
|||
How about USA 8.7.F
Effect 3 (Dead ball appeal) Once the ball has been returned to the infield and time is called, any coach or infielder, with or without possession of the the ball , may make a verbal appeal on a runner missing a base or leaving a base too soon on a caught fly ball. No runner may leave a base during this period as the ball remains dead until the next pitch. So RS#1.C.3 states: The dead ball appeal may be made: Once all runners have completed their advancement and time has been called. Runners must be give ample opportunity, in the umpire's judgment, to complete their base running responsibilities. In this case, the runner completing their responsibilities would involve not "advancement", but retreating to the previous base in order to legally tag up. I think the "giving of ample opportunity" may refer to the period of time BEFORE the umpire calls time. So even if the PU had perhaps called time a bit prematurely, it would seem that once time had been called, that the runner would not be able to return to first base during the dead ball period.
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Interference by runner, delayed dead ball | chapmaja | Softball | 6 | Thu May 26, 2016 03:11pm |
Live Ball Foul Called as Dead Ball | Reffing Rev. | Football | 15 | Wed Sep 09, 2009 01:30pm |
What is rule for dead ball with runner on 3rd? | TravelCoach | Baseball | 13 | Tue Jul 01, 2008 12:40am |
runner advance on dead ball | crumii | Softball | 2 | Sat Jun 11, 2005 09:31pm |