![]() |
|
|
|||
Misapplication of rule???
Was this handled correctly per NFHS Code.
1 out Bases loaded. B4 hits a shot to outfield for 2nd out runners tag up, play at third for 3rd out. Coach ask "did run count" PU states the runner missed the plate as she passed it so no run. The BU gets together with PU and discusses the play. PU states that the runner crossed the plate before the 3rd out but missed the base but retouched the plate after the 3rd out. BU informs the PU umpire that by rule the Runner is to be considered safe as the Defense did not appeal the missed plate and the fact that the runner came back and touched the plate before a 4th out appeal that the run should in fact score. I was the BU for this game. I belong to 2 HS groups and have been told 2 different things. Is this a correctable misapplication of the rules and was it handled properly.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
Quote:
Either way I have the run scoring as there was no appeal for the runner missing the plate and she did cross the plate prior to the third out on a timing play. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
It comes down to a runner is considered to have reached a base that they passed; unless the defense correctly appeals the miss.
Umpires may not rule on an appealable play until asked. Calling a player out for a missed base or a calling a run not counting violates that rule.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Quote:
I am getting 2 different statements from the 2 HS units I work with.
__________________
"I couldn't see well enough to play when I was a boy, so they gave me a special job - they made me an umpire." - President of the United States Harry S. Truman |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
But is he here? I'm without access to a book at the moment. But I would have said that by fixing the baserunning mistake the point at which the runner scored was when she ACTUALLY touched the plate.
|
|
|||
Yep, if it's a rule interp situation, you as the partner can (discretely) give your opinion, unsolicited, to the calling umpire
if she passed HP before the 3rd out, and no appeal before the retouch, the run counts. |
|
|||
Quote:
What are the specifics of the two versions?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
USA Softball Ten Second Rule vs. Foot in Box Rule | Manny A | Softball | 9 | Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:21pm |
Rule 5-1-1: Bizarre state rule interpretation? | WestCoaster | Football | 23 | Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:04pm |
UNC Ash v. Syracuse Rule Misapplication | APG | Basketball | 6 | Sat Mar 17, 2012 10:54pm |
Favorite Coach rule misapplication | largeone59 | Baseball | 40 | Thu Jul 21, 2005 11:02am |
Is misapplication of a balk rule protestable? | andrewm | Baseball | 14 | Tue May 03, 2005 06:29am |