View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2018, 09:39pm
chapmaja chapmaja is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insane Blue View Post
Was this handled correctly per NFHS Code.

1 out Bases loaded.
B4 hits a shot to outfield for 2nd out runners tag up, play at third for 3rd out.

Coach ask "did run count" PU states the runner missed the plate as she passed it so no run.


The BU gets together with PU and discusses the play. PU states that the runner crossed the plate before the 3rd out but missed the base but retouched the plate after the 3rd out.

BU informs the PU umpire that by rule the Runner is to be considered safe as the Defense did not appeal the missed plate and the fact that the runner came back and touched the plate before a 4th out appeal that the run should in fact score.

I was the BU for this game. I belong to 2 HS groups and have been told 2 different things.
Is this a correctable misapplication of the rules and was it handled properly.
the first thing I have to ask is when did the runner come back and touch the plate? Was it after the PU had indicated to the coach the run did not score, or was it an immediate act before any influence by the umpire?

Either way I have the run scoring as there was no appeal for the runner missing the plate and she did cross the plate prior to the third out on a timing play.
Reply With Quote