The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 12:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
[...
Also does softball have the "intervening play" interp? R3 is allowed to score if a play is made on her at HP and then there is a running lane violation on the following play at 1B.

Crabby_Bob;1008799]The effect of the rule is: The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch.
Just to expand on what crabby_Bob says, if the runner had crossed the plate (this is now the last base touched) before the batter-runner interfered, with less than 2 outs, the run would score. if R3 had not yet reached home at the time of interference, R3 would be sent back to the last base touched which is 3rd base.

In your example i believe you said a play was made on her at home but you didn't say if she was out or safe. if she had already been called out, R3 remains out. If R3 was already safe, she remains safe. I'm not sure i understand what your "intervening play" has to do with this scenario (but i don't ump baseball).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 08:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by josephrt1 View Post
Just to expand on what crabby_Bob says, if the runner had crossed the plate (this is now the last base touched) before the batter-runner interfered, with less than 2 outs, the run would score. if R3 had not yet reached home at the time of interference, R3 would be sent back to the last base touched which is 3rd base.

In your example i believe you said a play was made on her at home but you didn't say if she was out or safe. if she had already been called out, R3 remains out. If R3 was already safe, she remains safe. I'm not sure i understand what your "intervening play" has to do with this scenario (but i don't ump baseball).
Crabby_bob and NCAA say runners return TOP:
"EFFECT—The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the base runner closest to home plate shall also be called out."
So without an "intervening play" interp, with less than 2 out, a safe R3 would be returned to 3B if the BR was called out for RLI after the play at HP.

Last edited by umpjim; Tue Aug 22, 2017 at 09:08am.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 09:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by umpjim View Post
Crappy Bob and NCAA say runners return TOP:
"EFFECT—The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the base runner closest to home plate shall also be called out."
So without an "intervening play" interp, with less than 2 out, a safe R3 would be returned to 3B if the BR was called out for RLI after the play at HP.
Not in softball
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Not in softball
So who is correct in NCAA softball, joseprht1 or Crabby_bob? A played on R3 who is safe at HP is or isn't returned to 3B if the BR is called out for RLI after R3 scores with less than 2 out?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 11:16am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 648
With less than 2 outs, if the runner crosses the plate before the interference, her run counts and she is not returned to 3B.
She goes to the last base touched at the time of the INT. Home.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
With less than 2 outs, if the runner crosses the plate before the interference, her run counts and she is not returned to 3B.
She goes to the last base touched at the time of the INT. Home.
That's not what's in the NCAA proposed rule. And what about a straddling runner hit when a foot is in the air but has been touching outside the lane.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 22, 2017, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmkupka View Post
With less than 2 outs, if the runner crosses the plate before the interference, her run counts and she is not returned to 3B.
She goes to the last base touched at the time of the INT. Home.
That's not what "each base runner must return to the last base occupied at the time of the pitch" means.

This is not new. I will not quote entire sections, but the effect of batter-runner interfering with the fielder receiving the throw is the same, see 2016-17:12.19.1.3.2 and 2014-15:12.19.1.4.2.
Effect: The ball is dead, the batter-runner is out, and each base runner must return to the last base occupied
at the time of the pitch. If the interference, in the umpire’s judgment, is an obvious attempt to prevent a double play, the base runner closest to home
plate shall also be called out.
Getting back to the overall topic, I mostly agree with IRISH and AtlUmpSteve.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USA Softball Ten Second Rule vs. Foot in Box Rule Manny A Softball 9 Fri Jul 21, 2017 10:21pm
2018 NFHS Rule Changes Stat-Man Softball 23 Tue Jul 11, 2017 09:53am
NCAA Div I Softball Championships IRISHMAFIA Softball 7 Thu Jun 03, 2010 07:18pm
NCAA Softball Clinics Scooby Softball 2 Wed Jan 02, 2008 04:22am
NCAA Softball Umpires WhiteHat Ref Baseball 73 Sun Jun 10, 2007 10:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1