Yes. Dead ball, catch and carry when a support point was established beyond the dead ball line (base of fence); you originally only said crashed into, but feet remained in live territory (and I stopped reading, I guess).
The NFHS definition of a catch (and NCAA rules) requires both secure possession AND a voluntary and intentional release. You are substituting the USA/ASA definition that says "and/or", and interpretation that includes "if the fielder could have voluntarily released, but simply didn't yet". I would be happy if the rules are the same, but they aren't, and the context you reference is the USA/ASA rule only.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Apr 28, 2017 at 10:41am.
|