Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve
The NFHS definition of a catch (and NCAA rules) requires both secure possession AND a voluntary and intentional release. You are substituting the USA/ASA definition that says "and/or", and interpretation that includes "if the fielder could have voluntarily released, but simply didn't yet". I would be happy if the rules are the same, but they aren't, and the context you reference is the USA/ASA rule only.
|
Does it make a difference in practice? In the case of the third out and F3 trips over the chalk on the circle line and lets the ball roll out of her glove on to the pitchers plate on her way down, are you really ruling safe?
What's the play where on the field you'd rule differently based on the difference in those rules? The one in the OP?