The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Apr 28, 2017, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Yes. Dead ball, catch and carry when a support point was established beyond the dead ball line (base of fence); you originally only said crashed into, but feet remained in live territory (and I stopped reading, I guess).

The NFHS definition of a catch (and NCAA rules) requires both secure possession AND a voluntary and intentional release. You are substituting the USA/ASA definition that says "and/or", and interpretation that includes "if the fielder could have voluntarily released, but simply didn't yet". I would be happy if the rules are the same, but they aren't, and the context you reference is the USA/ASA rule only.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Fri Apr 28, 2017 at 10:41am.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 29, 2017, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
The NFHS definition of a catch (and NCAA rules) requires both secure possession AND a voluntary and intentional release. You are substituting the USA/ASA definition that says "and/or", and interpretation that includes "if the fielder could have voluntarily released, but simply didn't yet". I would be happy if the rules are the same, but they aren't, and the context you reference is the USA/ASA rule only.
Does it make a difference in practice? In the case of the third out and F3 trips over the chalk on the circle line and lets the ball roll out of her glove on to the pitchers plate on her way down, are you really ruling safe?
What's the play where on the field you'd rule differently based on the difference in those rules? The one in the OP?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 29, 2017, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Does it make a difference in practice? In the case of the third out and F3 trips over the chalk on the circle line and lets the ball roll out of her glove on to the pitchers plate on her way down, are you really ruling safe?
What's the play where on the field you'd rule differently based on the difference in those rules? The one in the OP?
Fair question.

In both your and the prior "example" (outfielder drops ball in the infield) case plays, I could see ruling the release, WELL AFTER the possession was voluntary and intentional. But in the OP, sorry, as described, I believe see that as a loss of possession before a voluntary release.

I am reminded of a baseball game I watched in mid-80's, when Atlanta Braves were "America's Team", according to TBS Superstation broadcasts. Left fielder Albert Hall "caught" a ball probably 20 feet or more in fair territory on a dead run headed to the foul line, couldn't stop, and dropped the ball after flipping over the short wall. Ruling: ground rule (we know it is a book rule two base award, not a ground rule) double; not a voluntary release. There is no such rule in softball (or, to my knowledge, in baseball) that defines "long enough" as possession.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 29, 2017, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
Yes. Dead ball, catch and carry when a support point was established beyond the dead ball line (base of fence); you originally only said crashed into, but feet remained in live territory (and I stopped reading, I guess).

The NFHS definition of a catch (and NCAA rules) requires both secure possession AND a voluntary and intentional release. You are substituting the USA/ASA definition that says "and/or", and interpretation that includes "if the fielder could have voluntarily released, but simply didn't yet". I would be happy if the rules are the same, but they aren't, and the context you reference is the USA/ASA rule only.
2.9.2 SITUATION B:

B1 hits to F5. The throw to F3 is wide so that it is necessary for F3 to stretch for the catch. The ball arrives in time but as F3 attempts to regain balance she loses possession of the ball. Is the runner out?

RULING: The time element has some influence, but in case of doubt, the umpire will rule the runner safe. Attempts to regain balance after receiving the ball are usually considered a part of the act of catching, and if the fielder does not come up with possession of the ball, it is not considered a catch. In all such cases, there is a judgment factor. If the ball is clearly in possession, and if some other new movement not related to the catch is then made and if the ball is fumbled during such new movement, the umpire will usually declare it a catch followed by a fumble.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Catch Rutsro Softball 12 Fri Apr 08, 2016 02:05pm
Catch over fence referee20 Baseball 9 Fri Jun 15, 2012 08:59am
NFHS Fair Catch Rule a335336 Football 16 Sun Sep 06, 2009 04:38pm
Hole in outfield fence at the base of the fence. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Baseball 28 Tue Jun 02, 2009 09:31pm
Legal catch over fence? rbmartin Baseball 10 Wed Apr 30, 2008 08:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1