NFHS - Diving catch on collapsing fence
I might have goofed one last night. I am PU. R1, no outs. BR hits a shot to the gap in left-center. The F8 makes a catch on the run and then crashes into the collapsible fence. Her feet stay in play. While trying to get up, the fielder drops the ball and it lays on the collapsed fence. R1 tags up and advances to 2B.
We let play continue, and I had to deal with a conversation over whether it was a catch or not. I judged that it was, so that was that.
Is a NFHS player out of play in dead-ball territory when lying down on a collapsed fence? In hindsight, I think she is (5-1i(a)) and I should have killed the play. The runner ended up at the correct place, so no actual jeopardy created.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker.
Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed)
"I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean."
|