The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 48
NFHS--Overrunning first--different question

Rule 2-1-2 d After overrunning first and making an attempt to go to 2B, how is this an appeal play? I do understand that if R is tagged before either reaching 2B or returning safely to 1B she is out. I fail to see an appeal situation here. Unless it would be possible for the defense to touch 1B before R returned, and that would constitute an appeal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
Rule 2-1-2 d After overrunning first and making an attempt to go to 2B, how is this an appeal play? I do understand that if R is tagged before either reaching 2B or returning safely to 1B she is out. I fail to see an appeal situation here. Unless it would be possible for the defense to touch 1B before R returned, and that would constitute an appeal?
It's an appeal that the runner didn't legally overrun first and is therefore out which can only be executed by tagging the runner. The effect is the same as tagging the runner.

(*) The chief reason for this difference is that per the book either umpire can rule on an appeal. This was made an appeal play to make it possible for the plate umpire to offer his opinion on whether it was an attempt to get to second.





(*) stop taking me seriously at this point
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 01:38pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Sometimes (I've seen it more in rec ball than anywhere else), a first baseman will place a tag on the BR as she returns to first base just because it's what they've been told to do. It's similar to a catcher tagging the batter after a third strike, even if the catcher caught the pitch and/or the batter cannot go to first base on an uncaught third. It's just how they've been taught, so they'll do it all the time.

That act of simply tagging the BR is nothing when the BR does make an attempt to go to second, if the defense doesn't somehow indicate to the umpire that they are appealing that the BR did make that attempt. An appeal, by definition, is a violation that the umpire doesn't make a decision until requested by the defense. Just like you wouldn't recognize a tag of a runner standing on third base after she misses second on her way from first, unless the defense makes it clear why they are tagging her, you shouldn't recognize a tag of the BR returning to first after making an attempt to go to second unless the defense accompanies that tag with some reason why they are tagging her.

How it almost always plays out is somebody is going to yell, "Tag her! She turned toward second base!" That's enough to indicate to the umpire that the defense is appealing her violation. If they say nothing and the fielder just nonchalantly tags her, you shouldn't rule her out.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
If they say nothing and the fielder just nonchalantly tags her, you shouldn't rule her out.
Why? She was tagged during a live ball while off the base. She wasn't entitled to overrun protection because she went toward second. You wouldn't ignore the tag if she ran halfway to second would you?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I'd have to disagree, Manny.

If the umpire judges that the runner did indeed make a move toward second base, then any tag is sufficient- be it nonchalant or not! No further action or verbal statements required.

I always did think it was odd that this play got lumped in with "appeals", but it did. Another oddity about this appeal: Unlike other appeals it MUST be a live ball appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 09:45am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Why? She was tagged during a live ball while off the base. She wasn't entitled to overrun protection because she went toward second. You wouldn't ignore the tag if she ran halfway to second would you?
Hey, I'm just guessing here because softball (and it's that way in every rule set I've seen) calls this an appeal. And it specifically deals with a runner attempting to advance to second after making a turn at first base, so I'm thinking of the batter-runner who takes a step to second and then thinks better about it. Your halfway-to-second situation is much different.

I've had trouble with this whole notion that the powers-that-be in NCAA, USA Softball, NFHS, USSSA, and maybe others that I don't work call this an appealable situation. My response was merely an assumption as to why. If it truly is NOT an appeal, then take it out of the damn books!
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
The best explanation I have been given to this question came from the Deputy National Director of Umpire HP. He said (at that time, probably 20 or more years ago) it was listed as an appeal because the player is asking for a ruling if the runner is protected as simply overrunning first base, or if in jeopardy because the umpire judges a move toward second that removes that protection.

And, like the other items listed as an appeal, if they don't ask, we don't tell them or indicate in any way that the runner is in jeopardy. We wouldn't rule on the runner being routinely tagged on a return to first base after missing the base, unless appealed, right? In the same way, we don't rule on this, either, unless appealed.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 09:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
Rule 2-1-2 d After overrunning first and making an attempt to go to 2B, how is this an appeal play? I do understand that if R is tagged before either reaching 2B or returning safely to 1B she is out. I fail to see an appeal situation here. Unless it would be possible for the defense to touch 1B before R returned, and that would constitute an appeal?
It is not an appeal play, never has been. I proposed a change a few years back that was summarily dismissed without discussion. I think the problem is no one knew what to say.

An appeal is a request for an umpire to rule on a violation or failure of the other team to perform.

A play on an unprotected runner is nothing more than a simple play on a runner in jeopardy during a live ball.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS--Overrunning first fredhjr Softball 11 Thu Mar 16, 2017 03:52pm
Overrunning 1B mrm21711 Baseball 16 Fri Jun 22, 2007 01:52pm
Overrunning First Base Southside Baseball 2 Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:41am
Overrunning 1B - Obstruction IRISHMAFIA Softball 21 Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:07am
Overrunning 1st base CecilOne Softball 16 Wed Apr 09, 2003 09:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1