View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 09:36am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr View Post
Rule 2-1-2 d After overrunning first and making an attempt to go to 2B, how is this an appeal play? I do understand that if R is tagged before either reaching 2B or returning safely to 1B she is out. I fail to see an appeal situation here. Unless it would be possible for the defense to touch 1B before R returned, and that would constitute an appeal?
It is not an appeal play, never has been. I proposed a change a few years back that was summarily dismissed without discussion. I think the problem is no one knew what to say.

An appeal is a request for an umpire to rule on a violation or failure of the other team to perform.

A play on an unprotected runner is nothing more than a simple play on a runner in jeopardy during a live ball.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote