Quote:
Originally Posted by fredhjr
Rule 2-1-2 d After overrunning first and making an attempt to go to 2B, how is this an appeal play? I do understand that if R is tagged before either reaching 2B or returning safely to 1B she is out. I fail to see an appeal situation here. Unless it would be possible for the defense to touch 1B before R returned, and that would constitute an appeal?
|
It's an appeal that the runner didn't legally overrun first and is therefore out which can only be executed by tagging the runner. The effect is the same as tagging the runner.
(*) The chief reason for this difference is that per the book either umpire can rule on an appeal. This was made an appeal play to make it possible for the plate umpire to offer his opinion on whether it was an attempt to get to second.
(*) stop taking me seriously at this point