The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 04:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
If they say nothing and the fielder just nonchalantly tags her, you shouldn't rule her out.
Why? She was tagged during a live ball while off the base. She wasn't entitled to overrun protection because she went toward second. You wouldn't ignore the tag if she ran halfway to second would you?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 22, 2017, 05:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I'd have to disagree, Manny.

If the umpire judges that the runner did indeed make a move toward second base, then any tag is sufficient- be it nonchalant or not! No further action or verbal statements required.

I always did think it was odd that this play got lumped in with "appeals", but it did. Another oddity about this appeal: Unlike other appeals it MUST be a live ball appeal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 09:45am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
Why? She was tagged during a live ball while off the base. She wasn't entitled to overrun protection because she went toward second. You wouldn't ignore the tag if she ran halfway to second would you?
Hey, I'm just guessing here because softball (and it's that way in every rule set I've seen) calls this an appeal. And it specifically deals with a runner attempting to advance to second after making a turn at first base, so I'm thinking of the batter-runner who takes a step to second and then thinks better about it. Your halfway-to-second situation is much different.

I've had trouble with this whole notion that the powers-that-be in NCAA, USA Softball, NFHS, USSSA, and maybe others that I don't work call this an appealable situation. My response was merely an assumption as to why. If it truly is NOT an appeal, then take it out of the damn books!
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
The best explanation I have been given to this question came from the Deputy National Director of Umpire HP. He said (at that time, probably 20 or more years ago) it was listed as an appeal because the player is asking for a ruling if the runner is protected as simply overrunning first base, or if in jeopardy because the umpire judges a move toward second that removes that protection.

And, like the other items listed as an appeal, if they don't ask, we don't tell them or indicate in any way that the runner is in jeopardy. We wouldn't rule on the runner being routinely tagged on a return to first base after missing the base, unless appealed, right? In the same way, we don't rule on this, either, unless appealed.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 12:09pm
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
The best explanation I have been given to this question came from the Deputy National Director of Umpire HP. He said (at that time, probably 20 or more years ago) it was listed as an appeal because the player is asking for a ruling if the runner is protected as simply overrunning first base, or if in jeopardy because the umpire judges a move toward second that removes that protection.

And, like the other items listed as an appeal, if they don't ask, we don't tell them or indicate in any way that the runner is in jeopardy. We wouldn't rule on the runner being routinely tagged on a return to first base after missing the base, unless appealed, right? In the same way, we don't rule on this, either, unless appealed.
Okay, so I go back to my previous example where the BR overruns first base, turns back, takes a step toward second then thinks better of it, and nobody on defense sees this and says, "Tag her! She stepped toward second!" As she returns, F3 simply tags her and then throws the ball back to the pitcher. Are we supposed to rule her out or not? You make it sound like we don't do so.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Okay, so I go back to my previous example where the BR overruns first base, turns back, takes a step toward second then thinks better of it, and nobody on defense sees this and says, "Tag her! She stepped toward second!" As she returns, F3 simply tags her and then throws the ball back to the pitcher. Are we supposed to rule her out or not? You make it sound like we don't do so.
I would agree with no call, as long as it is listed as an appeal.
Even "tag her" is ambiguous as it is yelled on many overruns.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Okay, so I go back to my previous example where the BR overruns first base, turns back, takes a step toward second then thinks better of it, and nobody on defense sees this and says, "Tag her! She stepped toward second!" As she returns, F3 simply tags her and then throws the ball back to the pitcher. Are we supposed to rule her out or not? You make it sound like we don't do so.
The requirement of any live ball appeal is that the umpire understand that an appeal is being made. The old tome was that while there could be an accidental force out, there cannot be an accidental appeal. The runner that misses 2nd on the way to 3rd isn't out if the shortstop kicks 2nd on her way by with the ball, unless she communicates in some way she is making an appeal.

Unless it is apparent that this an appeal, not a routine to tag every returning runner, then no call should be made. When it is clear to EVERYONE that this is a runner in jeopardy between bases being played on (and when that exists, doesn't the runner make some evasive move??), rule on the tag; if there is a question, it is an appeal that must be made. And, without communication, do you know WHAT they are appealing? You call her out for "attempting second" while they are appealing she missed the base; how does that look in your mind?

If they ARE actually making an appeal, you can be sure someone will say something when you don't rule either way. (Or you can spend the rest of time calling every runner returning "safe" when they tag every returning runner hoping to get lucky.)
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF

Last edited by AtlUmpSteve; Thu Mar 23, 2017 at 02:32pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 02:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
The requirement of any live ball appeal is that the umpire understand that an appeal is being made. The old tome was that while there could be an accidental force out, there cannot be an accidental appeal. The runner that misses 2nd on the way to 3rd isn't out if the shortstop kicks 2nd on her way by with the ball, unless she communicates in some way she is making an appeal.

Unless it is apparent that this an appeal, not a routine to tag every returning runner, then no call should be made. When it is clear to EVERYONE that this is a runner in jeopardy between bases being played on (and when that exists, doesn't the runner make some evasive move??), rule on the tag; if there is a question, it is an appeal that must be made. And, without communication, do you know WHAT they are appealing? You call her out for "attempting second" while they are appealing she missed the base; how does that look in your mind?

If they ARE actually making an appeal, you can be sure someone will say something when you don't rule either way. (Or you can spend the rest of time calling every runner returning "safe" when they tag every returning runner hoping to get lucky.)
So, I don't think the rules support this. Yes the weird appeal language muddies this up. But the rules are fairly clear. The BR is out if touched with the ball after overrunning and making an attempt for second.

If you're going to draw this line, where does it turn from an appeal into a live ball tag? Two steps toward second, halfway to second, casually returning versus agressively?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 06:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Feel free to establish your own rationale and understanding of the meaning of "when properly appealed", as required in the rules. For me, I will trust HP, and the generations that he has taught; and he was clear and distinct that an appeal must be actually "appealed", not just any similar or related play when an appeal is available.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 23, 2017, 11:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve View Post
The best explanation I have been given to this question came from the Deputy National Director of Umpire HP. He said (at that time, probably 20 or more years ago) it was listed as an appeal because the player is asking for a ruling if the runner is protected as simply overrunning first base, or if in jeopardy because the umpire judges a move toward second that removes that protection.

And, like the other items listed as an appeal, if they don't ask, we don't tell them or indicate in any way that the runner is in jeopardy. We wouldn't rule on the runner being routinely tagged on a return to first base after missing the base, unless appealed, right? In the same way, we don't rule on this, either, unless appealed.
Well, with all due respect to HP, his interpretation isn't supported by the definition.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 24, 2017, 08:58am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Just to muddy the waters even more, here's what's in the NCAA rule book:

Quote:
7.1 Appeals
7.1.1 An appeal is a play or rule violation on which the umpire does not
make a ruling until requested by a coach or player. The following may
be appealed:
7.1.1.1 Attempting to advance to second base after making the turn at or
overrunning first base. (See Rule 12.24.)
7.1.1.1.1 Must be a live-ball appeal.
7.1.1.1.2 Must be made before the batter-runner returns to first base.
And then this:

Quote:
12.24 Overrunning or Oversliding Bases
.
.
.
12.24.2 If the batter-runner feints or makes an attempt to advance to second, she may be tagged out (while she is off base) by a defensive player with the ball.
EFFECT—See Rule 7.1.1.1.
So the book recognizes under 12.24.2 that a BR who feints or makes an attempt to advance to second may be tagged out. Reading that alone makes you believe an appeal is not necessary. But then the Effect refers us back to 7.1.1.1 that says it must be a live-ball appeal.

This concept just needs to go away in softball. There's nothing like it in baseball anywhere. Over "there", it is accepted that a BR who attempts or feints an attempt toward second after overrunning first may be simply tagged without any question.
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 24, 2017, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
I like outs...

I'd consider the tag to be an unmistakable/obvious appeal!
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 24, 2017, 11:24am
Stirrer of the Pot
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lowcountry, SC
Posts: 2,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by BretMan View Post
I like outs...

I'd consider the tag to be an unmistakable/obvious appeal!
I like outs as well, Bret!

To be honest, this is nothing more than an academic discussion. To this day, I can safely say I've never seen it play out where a BR overruns first base, makes an attempt or feint to second, nobody on defense sees her do it, and then as she saunters back to first base, the fielder with the ball lays a nonchalant tag on her just because it's something she does to every BR who comes back to the bag.

But in the event that it does, I don't want to be the umpire who rules the BR out, and then the savvy head coach argues, "Hey Blue, where was the appeal on that?!"

Then again, the likelihood that there's a head coach out there who really knows what the rule requires is even slimmer than the play happening in the first place!
__________________
"Let's face it. Umpiring is not an easy or happy way to make a living. In the abuse they suffer, and the pay they get for it, you see an imbalance that can only be explained by their need to stay close to a game they can't resist." -- Bob Uecker
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS--Overrunning first fredhjr Softball 11 Thu Mar 16, 2017 03:52pm
Overrunning 1B mrm21711 Baseball 16 Fri Jun 22, 2007 01:52pm
Overrunning First Base Southside Baseball 2 Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:41am
Overrunning 1B - Obstruction IRISHMAFIA Softball 21 Sun Apr 13, 2003 10:07am
Overrunning 1st base CecilOne Softball 16 Wed Apr 09, 2003 09:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1