![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
The umpire that has tag-up responsibility should be the umpire that is making any appeal call at that base.
__________________
It's what you learn after you think you know it all that's important! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You claim that PU makes the call on the catch AND the live ball appeal at second base?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
|
|||
|
Without regard to how it should be done, isn't that what the book says?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
While this IS a live-ball appeal, it's not a "tag-up & advance" appeal, which is probably what Andy was referring to.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
But take this a step further, if you are following the book and the appeal is executed by tagging the runner while off the bag. Whose call? It's indistinguishable from the first play. (It's an out whether an appeal or not.) |
|
|||
|
Well, actually the mechanics you are citing are for tag up responsibilities. IMO, the attempt to double off R1 on a line drive, is the first play in the infield and belongs to the BU
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
|
|||
|
If the throw is to the fielder who takes it by tagging the bag, how can you think of it as anything besides the appeal of the tag play? I mean it's obvious to everyone in the park that she left early. That said, that's my pregame: let's treat any tag up that occurs that looks like a play and use the play mechanics instead of the appeal mechanics. I think it makes total sense I just don't think it's what the book says.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
And just to advocate the devil's position on this... FP game w/ R1 on 2B. BU in "C". Batter hits a sharp line drive to F7 who fields it on one hop and throws to 3B attempting to retire R1 who is advancing. Is this "first play in the infield"? My training has me busting inside towards 1B where my responsibility is picking up the BR. PU should have the play @ 3B. Yah?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Live ball appeal | BuggBob | Softball | 31 | Tue Aug 24, 2010 09:42pm |
| Live Ball Appeal | MichaelVA2000 | Softball | 8 | Tue Oct 23, 2007 06:44pm |
| Live ball appeal | IRISHMAFIA | Softball | 23 | Tue Oct 09, 2007 04:17pm |
| live ball appeal? | umpharp | Softball | 20 | Tue Feb 14, 2006 08:43pm |
| Live ball appeal | oppool | Softball | 6 | Thu Mar 01, 2001 10:14pm |