The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2016, 07:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by teebob21 View Post
Relevant video: Cron's slick move to reach base | MLB.com

Bear with me. Pretend it's softball. Is the BR out or safe?

I have the BR safe, but I need to get some rule cites handy.
My initial take. He passed first toward second returned to correct his baserunning mistake and then left the bag. At that point he was tagged, he should have been out. Any ruleset either sport.

Then I dove into the rulebook. A couple of thoughts from that pass. Oversliding first is not legal in ASA. I would have missed that on the field if it had ever happened. Second, overrunning is not defined in the book so I guess you could decide that was this, but on the I know it when I see it theory this isn't overrunning.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2016, 08:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: The Land Of The Free and The Home Of The Brave (MD/DE)
Posts: 6,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by youngump View Post
My initial take. He passed first toward second returned to correct his baserunning mistake and then left the bag. At that point he was tagged, he should have been out. Any ruleset either sport.

Then I dove into the rulebook. A couple of thoughts from that pass. Oversliding first is not legal in ASA. I would have missed that on the field if it had ever happened. Second, overrunning is not defined in the book so I guess you could decide that was this, but on the I know it when I see it theory this isn't overrunning.
I see no attempt for 2nd. A runner can take any path to the base they want.
As long as not over 3 feet from original avoiding a tag. Might have been 3, but not in my judgment.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2016, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne View Post
I see no attempt for 2nd. A runner can take any path to the base they want.
As long as not over 3 feet from original avoiding a tag. Might have been 3, but not in my judgment.
Not in mine either. I didn't say he made an attempt for second I said he passed 1st toward second. If there was a runner standing on first you'd have called him out for passing that runner, no?
But a runner can't take any path they want to 1B and still be considered over running the bag. Consider for example, U3K, runner gets to the 1B dugout opening but not in when the coach tells her to run. The opening is in a line with 1st and 2nd. The runner can't overrun at all from that angle. I'm not inclined to let a runner overrun it along that same line going the other way either.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2016, 09:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
My breakdown of this:

The BR overran the base but did not touch it; he returned and touched before he was tagged, (the tag would be an appeal anyway, so even if the tag was before the touch, there would have to be someting indicating an appeal).

But, then the BR lost contact with the base after returning, so on the second tag, out.

I get the point about any ol' direction on the overrun, but this is close enough to be an overrun (the first time) IMO. Besides, technically, the BR loses his protection for an try for 2nd, not for a somewhat curved overrun path.

But, in the end the BR is out on the second tag.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2016, 09:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota View Post
I get the point about any ol' direction on the overrun, but this is close enough to be an overrun (the first time) IMO..
I think I agree with this. But I also don't think it matters. Is there any situation where overrunning and missing is different from not overrunning and missing?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 11, 2016, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland (northeast of Baltimore)
Posts: 371
After watching the video quite a few times, it seems like this would be treated like any overrun where the runner misses the bag then returns (in this case the touch of the hand) and then steps off the bag and is tagged. What if the runner would have simply missed the bag with no close play, followed by a live ball appeal, a slide back into 1st that beats the tag or touch, then a roll off the bag, then another tag? I've got an out in that scenario and I believe in the video also.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Out then safe then out... MatthewPV Baseball 13 Mon Jun 14, 2010 10:23pm
Safe SRW Softball 25 Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:03pm
PU - Out. BU - Safe. Rich Baseball 3 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:43am
OBS - Always safe? cshs81 Baseball 5 Thu Jun 28, 2007 07:42am
Safe or out kab9 Softball 12 Tue Aug 29, 2006 11:56am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1