![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
This particular play has been the source of most of my dead-ball outs and a bunch of missed youth ejections over my umpiring career. Most of that has been ASA ball. Today I learned there is no interference rule against a runner "interfering" with a fielder who does not have the ball. I have probably called this out 20 times with no one ever protesting (except when I ejected a 12 y.o. kid).
Instead of the catcher, let's imagine this play at 3B. A runner from 2B intends to score on a base hit to LF. When rounding 3B, the runner intentionally runs over and through F5 who is waiting for the cutoff throw. There is no ASA rule support for an out or a dead ball. If the fielder has the ball when the crash is initiated by the runner, we have the RS #13 and 8-7-Q rule support. Otherwise, a strict interpretation of the rules would lead me to believe we play on, and eject at the conclusion of play.
__________________
Powder blue since 1998. Longtime forum lurker. Umpiring Goals: Call the knee strike accurately (getting the low pitch since 2017)/NCAA D1 postseason/ISF-WBSC Certification/Nat'l Indicator Fraternity(completed) "I'm gonna call it ASA for the foreseeable future. You all know what I mean." |
|
|||
|
Quote:
While ASA doesn't seem to have an out unless the defender has the ball and awaiting to tag the runner, is there anything that says the play would be dead immediately as in NFHS?
__________________
Ted USA & NFHS Softball |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Malicious contact or nothing? | jTheUmp | Baseball | 34 | Sat Apr 28, 2012 08:21pm |
| Malicious Contact | Gulf Coast Blue | Baseball | 11 | Wed Jul 27, 2011 02:10pm |
| Malicious Contact? | Spence | Baseball | 17 | Wed Jun 10, 2009 07:32am |
| Malicious contact | SC Ump | Softball | 15 | Tue Mar 15, 2005 03:53pm |
| Malicious Contact (FED) | Gre144 | Baseball | 1 | Tue Jun 26, 2001 09:12am |