The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Malicious contact (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/101163-malicious-contact.html)

northbendon Tue Mar 22, 2016 08:51pm

Malicious contact
 
Runner coming home catcher sets up to receive ball one hop off the back of runner.runner then blows up the catcher. what's the call


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BlueDevilRef Tue Mar 22, 2016 09:05pm

Well, blows up the catcher can be taken a lot of ways. Please try to describe plays in rule based description.

Since your thread title is malicious contact, I assume your judgement was that it was malicious. If so, that supersedes the obstruction (catcher did not have the ball (nfhs)). Dead ball, runner out and ejected.

RKBUmp Tue Mar 22, 2016 09:22pm

What rule set? Different rule sets are going to have different final rulings? Did runner have time to avoid contact or did catcher move in front of runner to late for the runner to avoid?

youngump Tue Mar 22, 2016 10:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by northbendon (Post 984935)
Runner coming home catcher sets up to receive ball one hop off the back of runner.runner then blows up the catcher. what's the call


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Since she blew up the catcher, I'll assume you're playing under YSIL rules. In YSIL rules, blowing up the catcher is legal. The out would stand though if the catcher was able to apply the tag first even if possession was lost due to the explosion.

Umpire@1 Wed Mar 23, 2016 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngump (Post 984956)
Since she blew up the catcher, I'll assume you're playing under YSIL rules. In YSIL rules, blowing up the catcher is legal. The out would stand though if the catcher was able to apply the tag first even if possession was lost due to the explosion.

Please tell me what are YSIL rules

Rich Ives Wed Mar 23, 2016 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpire@1 (Post 984986)
Please tell me what are YSIL rules

Spoof. As in what if the catcher was actually blown up.

BlueDevilRef Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:21am

In both NFHS and USSSA, it's an out and ejection, if deemed malicious contact. What rule sets differ from that ruling?

Andy Wed Mar 23, 2016 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Umpire@1 (Post 984986)
Please tell me what are YSIL rules

For those of us that have been around the forum for awhile, we know what YSIL rules refer to......

There was a time in the past where we had many umpires that did their primary work under different sanctions....ASA, USSSA, NSA, NCAA, USFA, etc., etc.

One of our members (I can't remember who) came up with YSIL rules as a spoof.....YSIL is the acronym for Yemeni Slayer of the Infidel League....

Now do you understand the "blowing up" the catcher reference? :D

RKBUmp Wed Mar 23, 2016 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 984996)
In both NFHS and USSSA, it's an out and ejection, if deemed malicious contact. What rule sets differ from that ruling?

While ASA does not use the term malicious contact in the rule book, people sometimes use it universally to describe contact.

ASA does not have an out call for flagrant/excessive or malicious contact. If the runner scored or was obstructed in reaching home, the run would score and then they would be ejected.

Tru_in_Blu Wed Mar 23, 2016 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 985003)
While ASA does not use the term malicious contact in the rule book, people sometimes use it universally to describe contact.

ASA does not have an out call for flagrant/excessive or malicious contact. If the runner scored or was obstructed in reaching home, the run would score and then they would be ejected.

Suggest you re-read RS 13.

RKBUmp Wed Mar 23, 2016 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 985008)
Suggest you re-read RS 13.

Rule supplement 13 is specific to a fielder who is in possession of the ball and waiting to make a tag. It has nothing to do with a fielder not in possession of the ball.

jmkupka Wed Mar 23, 2016 03:10pm

I've had more than one discussion with old-school umps regarding a runner plowing over F2 (not in possession) on her way to the plate.

They insist there's no way they're going to allow the run to score.

Nothing in ASA allows me to call her out, or to disallow the run. EJ of course, but not an out.

BlueDevilRef Wed Mar 23, 2016 03:55pm

I find it very poor of ASA to not have this rule. Very silly.

CecilOne Wed Mar 23, 2016 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 985003)
While ASA does not use the term malicious contact in the rule book, people sometimes use it universally to describe contact.

ASA does not have an out call for flagrant/excessive or malicious contact. If the runner scored or was obstructed in reaching home, the run would score and then they would be ejected.

The nearest is 8.7.Q

RKBUmp Wed Mar 23, 2016 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 985016)
The nearest is 8.7.Q

Which is rule supplement 13 and only applies to a fielder in possession of the ball and waiting to make a tag.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1