Forum: Softball
Mon Apr 19, 2004, 02:42pm
|
|
Replies: 36
Views: 4,200
Guys,
I'm not arguing that because the FLEX...
Guys,
I'm not arguing that because the FLEX batted between the 9th and 1st batters, she therefore illegally subbed for B1. I even mentioned the rule about illegal subs taking precedence over BOO....
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 16, 2004, 12:09pm
|
|
Replies: 6
Views: 1,733
Assuming you can read, I would say that you are...
Assuming you can read, I would say that you are reading in correctly :D Up until last year, I think, COR .47/525 balls were legal in FED and ASA. I fuess U-trip is just a little behind the current...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 16, 2004, 12:01pm
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 2,720
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 16, 2004, 11:57am
|
|
Replies: 37
Views: 12,342
LL rule 1.16 has a note to the effect that:...
LL rule 1.16 has a note to the effect that: "Helmets may not be painted and may not contain tape or decals unless approved in writing by the helmet manufacturer."
I did hear that Andy Konyar (the...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 16, 2004, 11:45am
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 2,241
Actually GM, speaking FED: there is a case play...
Actually GM, speaking FED: there is a case play (8.3.3.B I think) that says that after waiting a sufficient period of time for a play to be made, the umpire should call TIME and declare the trailing...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 16, 2004, 11:15am
|
|
Replies: 36
Views: 4,200
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 16, 2004, 10:31am
|
|
Replies: 36
Views: 4,200
Gentlefolk,
Consider the following scenario....
Gentlefolk,
Consider the following scenario. Flora the Flex mistakenly leads off the 4th inning and walks, B1 and B2 follow her at bat and both walk, B3 and B4 then strike out. Now Donna the DP...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Apr 14, 2004, 01:22pm
|
|
Replies: 5
Views: 1,279
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Apr 05, 2004, 07:23pm
|
|
Replies: 36
Views: 4,793
Mcrowder,
The difference between a foul tip...
Mcrowder,
The difference between a foul tip and a missed strike 3 is that a foul tip is a batted ball and therefore it is no longer a pitch. By rights, the batter should be out if the catcher...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 02, 2004, 12:28pm
|
|
Replies: 38
Views: 4,689
Speaking FED:
I think Hugo quoted the...
Speaking FED:
I think Hugo quoted the definitive ruling which is presented in the dead ball table in Section 5. which says:<ul><b>A pitched ball becomes blocked: award all runners 1 base from the...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 02, 2004, 12:11pm
|
|
Replies: 20
Views: 4,230
MadWorld,
What chuckchopper said is true, if...
MadWorld,
What chuckchopper said is true, if an IF is dropped, the runners CAN try to advance, but they DON'T HAVE TO RUN. This is the reason for declaring the batter out, to remove the force on...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Apr 02, 2004, 12:07pm
|
|
Replies: 8
Views: 1,583
Okay guys (and gals who did not answer),
I...
Okay guys (and gals who did not answer),
I agree that Jones was illegal while she was in the game, but she's sitting on the bench and Smith is now standing on 1st. The interp saays that it is...
|
Forum: Softball
Thu Apr 01, 2004, 12:59pm
|
|
Replies: 8
Views: 1,583
Not that any of us would allow this to happen,...
Not that any of us would allow this to happen, but just in case we're asked while UICing a tournament or some such; what if things happened just as noted in the interp and DP Jones did bat in the...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Mar 29, 2004, 03:21pm
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 1,617
The rule that Texblue was refering to is 10.1.L...
The rule that Texblue was refering to is 10.1.L to wit: <i><b><ul>The umpire will not penalize a team for any infraction of a rule when imposing the penalty would be an advantage for the offending...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Mar 29, 2004, 03:12pm
|
|
Replies: 10
Views: 1,617
Actually Texblue,
You don't call TIME unless...
Actually Texblue,
You don't call TIME unless the obstructed runner is PUT OUT before reaching her protected base. So in your situation, you would NOT call time when the ball got away from F2...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Mar 19, 2004, 01:53pm
|
|
Replies: 5
Views: 1,445
rwest.
If I notice a batter who is not setup...
rwest.
If I notice a batter who is not setup in the box properly and the pitcher has not started his motion, I will loudly call TIME and instruct the batter to take a proper position. If you...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Mar 19, 2004, 09:49am
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 2,727
Tom,
I have to disagree with your last...
Tom,
I have to disagree with your last statement. I think that if the ball gets far enough away from the fielder, they are no longer fielding a batted ball, instead they are chasing after a ball,...
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Mar 19, 2004, 09:39am
|
|
Replies: 17
Views: 2,727
I generally go with the "step and a reach"...
I generally go with the "step and a reach" criteria for determining interference on a muffed ball. the bottom line is whether the fielder still had an opportunity to make an out on some runner. If...
|
Forum: Softball
Thu Mar 18, 2004, 07:29pm
|
|
Replies: 20
Views: 4,230
Re: Dead ball??
That depnds on where the batter is when the ball hits her.<ol><li> If the batter swings at a pitch that hits her on the hands, you have a dead ball and a strike and if it's the 3rd strike, the...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Mar 17, 2004, 05:11pm
|
|
Replies: 13
Views: 1,689
I think you have just justified the umpire's...
I think you have just justified the umpire's call. Since HE was the only one on the 3rd baseline isn't it just a little possible that he had the best angle to just the ball fair or foul.
SamC
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Mar 17, 2004, 04:52pm
|
|
Replies: 16
Views: 2,334
I agree with Cecil here in that I believe that...
I agree with Cecil here in that I believe that the umpire should judge the <b>effect</b> of the obstruction <b>at the time</b> of the obstruction (i.e. did the runner lose 2 steps or 4) and apply...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Mar 17, 2004, 04:25pm
|
|
Replies: 14
Views: 1,909
|
Forum: Softball
Fri Mar 12, 2004, 05:29pm
|
|
Replies: 8
Views: 1,666
Ok, hers my rake on things:
Abby replaces...
Ok, hers my rake on things:
Abby replaces Becca at DP, Becca is out with 1 re-entry, team goes from 10 to 9.
Charlene replaces Abby, Abby is out with 1 re-entry, team is still playing with 9.
...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Mar 09, 2004, 03:09pm
|
|
Replies: 14
Views: 2,029
Dave,
The situation you are describing where...
Dave,
The situation you are describing where the 3rd out is an appeal on the runner from 3rd at home negates all of the following runs because no succeding runner may score when a preceding runner...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Mar 08, 2004, 01:57pm
|
|
Replies: 6
Views: 2,506
My interpretation is this: If the batter ( part...
My interpretation is this: If the batter ( part of B-R) is hit with a legally hit fair ball ( meaning she was in the box when she hit the ball ), then all you have is a foul ball; if the runner (part...
|