Forum: Softball
Sun May 01, 2016, 07:52pm
|
Replies: 10
Views: 1,885
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Nov 23, 2015, 09:13pm
|
Replies: 5
Views: 2,113
|
Forum: Softball
Sat Nov 14, 2015, 12:46pm
|
Replies: 5
Views: 2,113
Thanks
Thank you for the info. Much appreciated.
|
Forum: Softball
Sat Nov 14, 2015, 08:34am
|
Replies: 5
Views: 2,113
Gorilla Grip in NFHS?
Is Gorilla Grip (similar to resin bag) legal for pitchers to use in NFHS? If so, what rule does that fall under? Thanks!
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Jul 24, 2012, 07:51pm
|
Replies: 6
Views: 1,237
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Jul 24, 2012, 07:01pm
|
Replies: 6
Views: 1,237
Thanks RKBUmp
Here was the call on the field (I was a true spectator, not an umpire, coach, or parent - completely a disinterested party):
Both R1 and BR were called out.
Because I was just watching and...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Jul 24, 2012, 06:39pm
|
Replies: 6
Views: 1,237
A New One for Me
Let me preface this by saying I'm learning!
ASA rules: One out, R1 on first base. BR hits a little bloop in front of F3 that hits the ground (ground ball). F3 scoops the ball, touches first base....
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Mar 06, 2012, 08:02am
|
Replies: 22
Views: 3,037
She was called out.
After the call, our head coach went out and asked if the umpire saw the SS bobbling the ball. The umpire said he did, but since she controlled the ball at the moment of the tag, the baserunner was...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Mar 05, 2012, 12:30pm
|
Replies: 22
Views: 3,037
Safe or Out?
Look at this video. Is the baserunner safe or out? After I get some opinions on this, I'll post the call. I'm particularly interested in what you have to say about the shortstop's bobble of the...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Jul 12, 2010, 04:10pm
|
Replies: 37
Views: 4,673
Big Slick!
If you're who I think you are, then 1. You're my favorite rules interpeter, and 2. I DO know that you like a cold, frosty one (while discussing rules, of course!). How was the DII world series?
...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Jul 12, 2010, 02:00pm
|
Replies: 37
Views: 4,673
Big Slick
It was a game in PA under NFHS rules. We didn't call an interpreter because it didn't affect the outcome of the game and we were satisfied with the original call. This was just talk we had after...
|
Forum: Softball
Mon Jul 12, 2010, 12:02pm
|
Replies: 37
Views: 4,673
Video of Interference
I think I figured out how to post the video of the call in question:
<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/D_s9EZ-SlP4&hl=en_US&fs=1"></param><param...
|
Forum: Softball
Wed Jul 07, 2010, 01:25pm
|
Replies: 37
Views: 4,673
mbcrowder
Yes. The F4 had the ball in her glove, turned to tag runner, and runner collided with her, but not intentionally. It was during a District Final game, so I have a video clip of it, I just don't...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Jul 06, 2010, 03:29pm
|
Replies: 37
Views: 4,673
Thanks!
Thank you for your answers. Yes, I did mean "interference" (as is obvious, I'm a coach, but should still have known the difference by now!) I figured it was interference, but I wasn't sure if we...
|
Forum: Softball
Tue Jul 06, 2010, 01:16pm
|
Replies: 37
Views: 4,673
Interference Question
I'm a coach, not an umpire - please continue reading anyway! :)
R1 on first base, one out, B1 hits a high chopper to F4, F4 fields ball (has ball in glove) and R1 collides with F4 in the baseline....
|
Forum: Softball
Sun Jul 26, 2009, 05:56pm
|
Replies: 24
Views: 2,998
Who's a coach?
I'm not a coach. I am an umpire. In my opinion, the reasoning for his judgement is wrong. It's an integrity issue. If he would have believed what he was saying, he would have rewarded her 3B. He...
|
Forum: Softball
Sun Jul 26, 2009, 08:36am
|
Replies: 24
Views: 2,998
Thanks!
Thanks for your responses. It sounds like I wasn't off base for questioning the call. My only concern was that he used the words "in my judgement" well after the play was over. It was as if he...
|
Forum: Softball
Sat Jul 25, 2009, 09:01am
|
Replies: 24
Views: 2,998
How would you rule this obstruction call?
B1 hits a ball into RF gap, rounds the 1B bag and collides with F3 who is standing in the baseline. Base umpire appropriately signals for obstruction and allows play to continue. B1 falls as a...
|