After the call, our head coach went out and asked if the umpire saw the SS bobbling the ball. The umpire said he did, but since she controlled the ball at the moment of the tag, the baserunner was out. We didn't like that explanation, but it was his call to make.
This is another angle which backs up his claim that he saw the bobble. It was a big game and the crew did a very good job, but (you know us coaches!) we would have liked the call to go the other way.
Thanks for all of your input. We're always trying to grow in our understanding of the rules and how the games are called. Appreciate it!
Last edited by MountieSB; Tue Mar 06, 2012 at 08:15am.
Reason: Spelling