The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Jul 06, 2010, 01:16pm
Official Forum Member

Interference Question

I'm a coach, not an umpire - please continue reading anyway!

R1 on first base, one out, B1 hits a high chopper to F4, F4 fields ball (has ball in glove) and R1 collides with F4 in the baseline. BU calls obstruction, R1 out for obstructing F4. Because F4 was run over, she was unable to complete a throw to first base to get that out (and turn a double play).

My question is this - Is this obstruction, or merely a collision that resulted in an out because of a tag (like you would get with a collision on a play at the plate)? Either way, R1 is out, but I'm just looking for clarification. Because we got an out (I was DC), I was obviously happy, but the other coaches and I were talking about it after the end of the game wondering if it was obstruction or just a tag out. Thoughts?

Thanks for your time.

Mike

Last edited by MountieSB; Mon Jul 12, 2010 at 12:00pm. Reason: Changed title from "Obstruction" to "Interference"
Old Tue Jul 06, 2010, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member

I think you mean interference, Mike.

It certainly could be interference as described. You could get the second out if the umpire judged the interference to prohibit the double play. Hard to say going by the information given.
Old Tue Jul 06, 2010, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MountieSB View Post
Well, we can't ALL be perfect, now can we? Just kidding, Mike.

Quote:
R1 on first base, one out, B1 hits a high chopper to F4, F4 fields ball (has ball in glove) and R1 collides with F4 in the baseline. BU calls obstruction, R1 out for obstructing F4. Because F4 was run over, she was unable to complete a throw to first base to get that out (and turn a double play).