The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 22, 2013, 09:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
Why didn't the white hat throw a flag if it was obviously IG?
Because he apparently made a mistake in identifying a lineman as an eligible receiver.....

I also saw a clip of the touchdown pass that won the game. It looks like a receiver was covered up and advance down field at the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 22, 2013, 11:19pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Because he apparently made a mistake in identifying a lineman as an eligible receiver.....

I also saw a clip of the touchdown pass that won the game. It looks like a receiver was covered up and advance down field at the snap.
And he should be getting help from his wings in this case. I can see him thinking there is a reciever in the area, but his wing should have told no one was around. After all this call is not always made immediately.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 05:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
And he should be getting help from his wings in this case. I can see him thinking there is a reciever in the area, but his wing should have told no one was around. After all this call is not always made immediately.

Peace
Agreed...... many times this is a crew call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 07:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Even worse, the play before the IG was another badly missed call by this crew.

I just watched the video of the second half. and this crew missed an illegal participation, or illegal substitution penalty on the previous play. One the play prior to the missed IG call, a BBR player hobbled off the field and a replacement came on right before the ball is snapped. The problem is that meant 12 players were on the field, and all participated in the play.

Here is another question. When a player comes off the bench in high school, do they have to come inside the 9 yard marks prior to lining up in position on the play. The player who comes off the bench (12th player), only gets about 5 yards into the field and takes a position as a WR on the LOS. That meant 5 guys in the backfield, and 7 on the LOS. The linesman on the near side was already walking down field when the snap occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 07:46am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
Even worse, the play before the IG was another badly missed call by this crew.

I just watched the video of the second half. and this crew missed an illegal participation, or illegal substitution penalty on the previous play. One the play prior to the missed IG call, a BBR player hobbled off the field and a replacement came on right before the ball is snapped. The problem is that meant 12 players were on the field, and all participated in the play.

Here is another question. When a player comes off the bench in high school, do they have to come inside the 9 yard marks prior to lining up in position on the play. The player who comes off the bench (12th player), only gets about 5 yards into the field and takes a position as a WR on the LOS. That meant 5 guys in the backfield, and 7 on the LOS. The linesman on the near side was already walking down field when the snap occurred.
So the replacement was already in when the first player hobbled off?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 07:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
So the replacement was already in when the first player hobbled off?
No, the replacement did not enter the field until after the injured player hobbled off the field. The incoming player stepped onto the field, roughly half way between the sideline and the numbers and immediately took a position on the LOS.

Does NFHS still have the 9 yard mark rule that was put into effect in 2005? IIRC the rule required all offensive players to be momentarily inside the 9 yard mark between the RFP and the snap. This would be designed to prevent exactly what happened on the play. An offensive player enters the field and is uncovered by a defensive player, and thus influences the play. The player that came onto the field, went deep and drew coverage from a defensive back which allowed another receiver to cut underneath catch the ball and get OOB to stop the clock.

The biggest issue was still the missed 12 men on the field on that play anyway.

Last edited by chapmaja; Mon Sep 23, 2013 at 07:59am.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 923
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
No, the replacement did not enter the field until after the injured player hobbled off the field. The incoming player stepped onto the field, roughly half way between the sideline and the numbers and immediately took a position on the LOS.

Does NFHS still have the 9 yard mark rule that was put into effect in 2005? IIRC the rule required all offensive players to be momentarily inside the 9 yard mark between the RFP and the snap. This would be designed to prevent exactly what happened on the play. An offensive player enters the field and is uncovered by a defensive player, and thus influences the play. The player that came onto the field, went deep and drew coverage from a defensive back which allowed another receiver to cut underneath catch the ball and get OOB to stop the clock.

The biggest issue was still the missed 12 men on the field on that play anyway.
I'm confused...you say the injured player got off the field and his replacement got on the field outside the numbers. Had the injured player already been replaced by someone else and the late guy wasn't needed? Or are you saying he wasn't replaced yet (even though he's on the sideline) since the replaced player did not get inside the numbers? Based on your description I have a foul for illegal formation on the guy not being inside the numbers but not for illegal substitution/participation. You could also have an illegal shift since he probably didn't get set before the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 08:56am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
No, the replacement did not enter the field until after the injured player hobbled off the field. The incoming player stepped onto the field, roughly half way between the sideline and the numbers and immediately took a position on the LOS.

Does NFHS still have the 9 yard mark rule that was put into effect in 2005? IIRC the rule required all offensive players to be momentarily inside the 9 yard mark between the RFP and the snap. This would be designed to prevent exactly what happened on the play. An offensive player enters the field and is uncovered by a defensive player, and thus influences the play. The player that came onto the field, went deep and drew coverage from a defensive back which allowed another receiver to cut underneath catch the ball and get OOB to stop the clock.

The biggest issue was still the missed 12 men on the field on that play anyway.
I'm just trying to figure out how they got 12? You said a replacement came in, and a player went out. That's normally 11.

Now, yes, there still is a requirement to get inside the 9s. It isn't always strictly enforced, especially if the player is covered, but it seems like he wasn't here, so they may have missed one.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Agreed...... many times this is a crew call.
The most important thing would be to get the call correct. I can't see any way they missed this call when no eligible number is within 25 yards of the play. I can see the referee just seeing a 6 or 1 on the player closest to the landing point, but 2 officials both looking at the area should be able to see no eligible player was in the area, thus the flag should have been thrown.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 23, 2013, 08:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
And he should be getting help from his wings in this case. I can see him thinking there is a reciever in the area, but his wing should have told no one was around. After all this call is not always made immediately.

Peace
I would agree. It looks like the referee immediately points to #61 being in the area. The problem is #61 is not, and if I understand the rules correctly can NEVER be an eligible receiver.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rules question gobuxx69 Football 26 Sat Dec 22, 2012 12:20am
question about some rules! Sooner5900 Basketball 2 Sun Dec 20, 2009 09:11am
Rules Question RANCHMAN Basketball 15 Sun Jan 25, 2009 10:59am
rules question devdog69 Basketball 3 Sun Jan 23, 2005 04:10pm
Rules question #3...please help.... trippingants4134 Basketball 11 Tue Feb 26, 2002 11:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1