The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 3
The ball is in the front court...a player has possession of the ball...and turns to throw the ball to a man who is currently standing in the backcourt...

the man in the backcourt leaves his feet in the backcourt....catches the ball in the air...and lands in the front court...

is this backcourt? doesn't he have to establish himself in the front court before touching the ball, similar to the way he must establish himself in bounds before touching a ball??
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 962
Send a message via AIM to Tim Roden
The rule on an airborn player is, you are where you last were. So when that player went airborn from backcourt, he is still in backcourt until he gets one foot down in front court. So if he catches the ball int he air, he is in backcourt and it is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to RX Ref
yes

if he takes off from the BC, he must land in the FC before he catches the ball, or this is a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 03:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
tripping,
What Tim and RX said.

But, remember, this does not apply for a throw-in where there is no FC possession.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 04:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 303
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
RX Ref,

It's a violation if he catches it or TOUCHES it before establishing in the front court?

And what is the answer if you flip the situation. Ball is in backcourt with A1, A1 throws to A2, who is currently in frontcourt but running towards backcourt. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the pass, and lands in the backcourt. What's your call?
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally posted by IUgrad92
RX Ref,

It's a violation if he catches it or TOUCHES it before establishing in the front court?


I'm not RX ref (although I do work as an Rx technician and do stay in Holiday Inn Expresses from time to time ), but I'll answer this question - yet it's a violation even if the ball is only touched. Consider this example - A1 has the ball in the FC, A1 rolls the ball into the backcourt, where A2 tips it - BC violation, even though there was no player control. 9-9 says that a player shall not be the first to touch the ball, yadda, yadda . . .

Quote:
And what is the answer if you flip the situation. Ball is in backcourt with A1, A1 throws to A2, who is currently in frontcourt but running towards backcourt. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the pass, and lands in the backcourt. What's your call?
Backcourt violation. Let's look at the four "keys"
(1) There must be team control.
(2) The ball must attain frontcourt status.
(3) A# must be the last to touch the ball before it goes BC.
(4) A# must be the first to touch the ball after it has been in the BC.

1 is obvious in this case.
2 - the ball attains frontcourt status when it touches airborn A2 - see 4-35-3 for location of an airborne player and 4-4 for location of the ball/
3 - When A2 touched the ball, it was FC.
4 - When A2 landed while holding the ball, he was in the BC.

Since all four conditions were met, we have a backcourt violation.

(How's that for a short post? )
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 05:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by IUgrad92
RX Ref,

It's a violation if he catches it or TOUCHES it before establishing in the front court?
Touches it.

Quote:
And what is the answer if you flip the situation. Ball is in backcourt with A1, A1 throws to A2, who is currently in frontcourt but running towards backcourt. A2 jumps from the frontcourt, catches the pass, and lands in the backcourt. What's your call?
This is also a BC violation
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 05:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tweed Heads, NSW, Australia
Posts: 559
Quote:
Originally posted by mick

But, remember, this does not apply for a throw-in where there is no FC possession.
mick
Yes it does apply if the throw in from the front court.
__________________
Duane Galle
P.s. I'm a FIBA referee - so all my posts are metric

Visit www.geocities.com/oz_referee
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 05:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by mick

But, remember, this does not apply for a throw-in where there is no FC possession.
mick
Yes it does apply if the throw in from the front court.
I think this is just a FEEBLE rule.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 07:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by Oz Referee
Yes it does apply if the throw in from the front court.
Maybe under FEEBLE rules but not under NFHS or NCAA rules.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by mick
tripping,
What Tim and RX said.

But, remember, this does not apply for a throw-in where there is no FC possession.
mick
Or on a steal. A1, in his backcourt, makes a pass over the
division line. B1 jumps from his backcourt, catches
A1's pass and lands in B1's own frontcourt. No BC
violation.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 62
Send a message via AIM to RX Ref
Smile thanks

]

I'm not RX ref (although I do work as an Rx technician and do stay in Holiday Inn Expresses from time to time ), but I'll answer this question - yet it's a violation even if the ball is only touched. Consider this example - A1 has the ball in the FC, A1 rolls the ball into the backcourt, where A2 tips it - BC violation, even though there was no player control. 9-9 says that a player shall not be the first to touch the ball, yadda, yadda . . .

Thanks Mark,
I never refuse the help of a good technician.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1