The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 09:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
overlapped penalty: 25-yd penalty possible?

In NCAA rule.

A team receiver catches the ball thrown, then make touchdown.
Then he spikes his ball too excited, but the HL throw yellow flag immediately(Personal Foul).

Afterwards, turned out there's holding penalty already.

So, TD canceled, 10yd penalty is applied A team.
But more, 15yd penalty also applied, total 25yd penalty.

Is it right ruling?

(In my opinion, only 10yd penalty by holding is acceptable,)


Thank You.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 17, 2012, 10:35pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,061
A live ball act or penalty has nothing to do with a dead ball act. You apply them both because these are not penalized in the same way. Both have to be applied in this case even if it does not make sense to you or not. The proper thing is to enforce the holding penalty if accepted and then the dead ball penalty if also accepted (or half the distance if need be).

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2012, 05:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by great View Post
Then he spikes his ball too excited, but the HL throw yellow flag immediately(Personal Foul).
A personal foul would be for illegal contact.

What you describe is unsportsmanlike conduct.

Quote:
(In my opinion, only 10yd penalty by holding is acceptable,)
Why?
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 18, 2012, 06:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,182
The spiking is a USC foul, not personal. On this play, you could ask the offended coach if he wants to decline the holding penalty and back them up only 15, something he might do if 2nd or 3rd down because the dead ball foul is enforced from the succeeding spot. If they want both, you enforce both and repeat the down. The argument of "he wouldn't have spiked it had he known the play was coming back" doesn't hold water, just in case the coach of the offending team wants to know!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2012, 03:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef View Post
A personal foul would be for illegal contact.

What you describe is unsportsmanlike conduct.
Unless he spiked the ball onto someone's foot.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat May 19, 2012, 07:10pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,061
Not exactly true. If someone throws something at someone, that still could be an unsporting act. And spiking the ball and hitting someone's foot does not necessarily matter if you hit someone in the process. The act of spiking is unsporting in itself. At least that is the suggestion in 9-2-1.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun May 20, 2012, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SC
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
The spiking is a USC foul, not personal. On this play, you could ask the offended coach if he wants to decline the holding penalty and back them up only 15, something he might do if 2nd or 3rd down because the dead ball foul is enforced from the succeeding spot. If they want both, you enforce both and repeat the down. The argument of "he wouldn't have spiked it had he known the play was coming back" doesn't hold water, just in case the coach of the offending team wants to know!
The defense would not decline the holding as it was a TD. If the defense declines the hold, then the TD stands and the 15 is either enforced on the try or succeeding kick-off. There is only one logical solution to this play for any coach and that is to take BOTH penalties.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 21, 2012, 02:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,182
You're right. I guess I put the dead ball foul somewhere else in the timeline.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Penalty or not????? Illini_Ref Football 39 Wed Sep 03, 2008 12:48pm
Penalty? fan Football 3 Thu Oct 05, 2006 07:54am
Penalty? fan Football 6 Wed Sep 13, 2006 03:33pm
what is the penalty for clippy Football 2 Sun Aug 27, 2006 08:16pm
Penalty for T? imagomer Basketball 9 Wed Jan 05, 2005 05:05pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1