The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 11:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 52
HS game. White causes the ball to go OOB, so Red get the throw in. Red coach subs a player who wasn't in the scorebook; Officials call the T. The Officials award White two FTs, then give Red the throw in (point of interuption). Was this correct, or should the penalty have been to award White 2 FTs AND the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,592
White ball

Same as if Red Coach thought White traveled on the way to layup and now Red has inbounded and on the way up the court Red Coach earns a T. Not only does White get 2 free throws, but Red had the ball and now it belongs to White. I guess if you're gonna get a T, you should strategize your timing.
__________________
Do you ever feel like your stuff strutted off without you?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 11:15am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
Quote:
Originally posted by imagomer
HS game. White causes the ball to go OOB, so Red get the throw in. Red coach subs a player who wasn't in the scorebook; Officials call the T. The Officials award White two FTs, then give Red the throw in (point of interuption). Was this correct, or should the penalty have been to award White 2 FTs AND the ball?
A high school game should have seen the ball given to white here. If white coach wanted his player in the game, he should have subbed him in when red already had the ball.
Looks like this crew was using the NCAA rule, rather than the high school rule.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Pensacola
Posts: 52
Thanks. I was white coach and I asked the Official politely (really) twice if he was sure. He said he was, and the game continued. Emotions were not elevated and we were comfortably ahead by 8 - 10 through the game, so there was no hub-bub about this call. I just wanted to be correct the next time.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 57
Well, if you were the white coach then our fellow official must have been correct. Kidding, you are correct. After ANY "T" the team that is awarded the FT's always get the ball at half court (as opposed to an intentional foul when the ball is inbounded, after the FT's, at the point "closest" to the spot of the foul.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 01:37pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
White ball

Same as if Red Coach thought White traveled on the way to layup and now Red has inbounded and on the way up the court Red Coach earns a T. Not only does White get 2 free throws, but Red had the ball and now it belongs to White. I guess if you're gonna get a T, you should strategize your timing.
Some guys will actually do that on purpose and I see their point. Wait until a team has the ball then T the coach.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 01:41pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally posted by ChiliBob
Well, if you were the white coach then our fellow official must have been correct. Kidding, you are correct. After ANY "T" the team that is awarded the FT's always get the ball at half court (as opposed to an intentional foul when the ball is inbounded, after the FT's, at the point "closest" to the spot of the foul.
Are you sure that's where the throw-in is for an intentional technical foul?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 135
Without starting a new thread....Same type of situation. Before the throw in for white to start the second half. T called on white. Red would shoot the 2 FT and then get the ball and the arrow?
__________________
If you're going to be stupid, be all the way stupid!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Dudly
Without starting a new thread....Same type of situation. Before the throw in for white to start the second half. T called on white. Red would shoot the 2 FT and then get the ball and the arrow?
A single technical foul does not cause the arrow to switch. Give two free throws to Red. Then give Red the ball at halfcourt opposite the table to start the half. The next AP throw-in will go to the team that had the arrow (it did not change).

Z
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 05, 2005, 05:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ChrisSportsFan
I guess if you're gonna get a T, you should strategize your timing.
Or petition the FED to do the smart thing and adopt the POI rule for Ts
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1