![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Well it depends on if there was an IW or not. It sounds like you guys decided the player was down? If you decided the player was down and there was no IW then you would have fourth down from the 7 (half distance to GL). If there was an IW then you would replay the down and half the distance for the enforcment of the UC would be the two.
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
You stated yes that two USC fouls explains the spot? Explain your answer to me. Ball should have been placed at the two repeat third down. |
|
|||
|
The choices on this play are:
(1) Player ruled down at 14. Count the down, penalize B half the distance. 4th and goal on the B-7. (2) Inadvertent whistle. Down must be replayed, penalize B half the distance from the previous spot. 3rd and goal from the B-2. |
|
|||
|
thank you for the replies. I am actually a coach (for the offensive team) looking for clarification. We were not given any options. The referee said we would replay the down and that he would mark off the distance for the UC penalty.
The head coach of the defensive team is throwing a fit about the play. We threw an interception on the next play anyways, so I think they caught a break as well. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Hard for me to imagine how a player could "fall on the ball" and yet the whistle be inadvertent. Either the description is faulty, or there was some strange judgment that the player lying on the ball, even if it subsequently "squirted out", was not in possession of it. Did one of the other officials have a better angle that enabled him to see the ball was merely deflected off the side of the player rather than trapped between the player's body and the ground?
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
There are really no options. If it was an IW during a loose ball, the down has to be replayed. Should an IW happen while the ball is in player possession, then a team would have options.
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
|
Ah, I see your point (and tomes's). Of course if we replay the down, it won't be from the B14, and the basic spot for USC is the succeeding spot (in this case, the B4). Yep, there's probably a goof in this enforcement: sounds as if the crew regarded the B14 as the succeeding spot, enforced 2 USC fouls, then applied the IW provisions to replay the down.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Proper Mechanic | Clark Kent | Basketball | 27 | Thu Nov 13, 2008 05:33pm |
| Proper Appeals | harmbu | Baseball | 6 | Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:29pm |
| What's the proper administration? | bcooley66 | Basketball | 25 | Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:49pm |
| Proper Mechanics | stewcall | Basketball | 8 | Mon Jan 06, 2003 03:50pm |