The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
Proper spot and down?

Offense has the ball, 3rd and goal on the 4 yard line. Shotgun snap goes over QB's head. Halfback fall on the ball at the 14 yard line. Head Linesman blows the play dead, assuming HB has recovered the ball. The ball squirts loose and the defense recovers. After the officials meet, they confirm the whistle had blown the play dead at the 14. A coach from the defensive team runs out on the field, berates the officials, and receives an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. The ball is placed at approximately the 3 yard line and third down is repeated.

Is that the correct placement of the ball and should it still be third down?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 11:47am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,558
You have an Inadvertent Whistle, which means the offended team (the team with the ball) has the option of taking the place where the ball was ruled dead or they can replay the down. Anytime you have a penalty, the penalty must be administered if accepted. It sounds like the team with the ball choose the option to replay the down and since the USC penalty was administered as well; the ball would be placed after the penalty half the distance to the goal and repeat the down. It sounds like they got it right considering they had an IW.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 09:38pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by cubes32 View Post
Offense has the ball, 3rd and goal on the 4 yard line. Shotgun snap goes over QB's head. Halfback fall on the ball at the 14 yard line. Head Linesman blows the play dead, assuming HB has recovered the ball. The ball squirts loose and the defense recovers. After the officials meet, they confirm the whistle had blown the play dead at the 14. A coach from the defensive team runs out on the field, berates the officials, and receives an unsportsmanlike conduct penalty. The ball is placed at approximately the 3 yard line and third down is repeated.

Is that the correct placement of the ball and should it still be third down?
CANADIAN RULING:

If the play was not over by rule, then we have an IW. Team A will opt to replay the down. Also assess the 10 yards for the B coach on the field. Result is Team A 1D/G @ B-2.

If the play was over by rule, then we do not have an IW. Assess the 10 yards for the B coach on the field. Result is Team A 4D/G @ B-7.
If the down was the last down (3 downs in Canada), then we have a turnover on downs, and we get Team B 1D/10 @ B-7.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Agreed: the IW explains why the down was repeated; 2 USC fouls explain the spot.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 12:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 69
Well it depends on if there was an IW or not. It sounds like you guys decided the player was down? If you decided the player was down and there was no IW then you would have fourth down from the 7 (half distance to GL). If there was an IW then you would replay the down and half the distance for the enforcment of the UC would be the two.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by tomes1978 View Post
Well it depends on if there was an IW or not. It sounds like you guys decided the player was down? If you decided the player was down and there was no IW then you would have fourth down from the 7 (half distance to GL). If there was an IW then you would replay the down and half the distance for the enforcment of the UC would be the two.
Read the OP again: the poster knows what happened (down repeated, strange spot), he just doesn't know why.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 01:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 69
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Read the OP again: the poster knows what happened (down repeated, strange spot), he just doesn't know why.
Well his question was ,"Is that the correct placement of the ball and should it still be third down?"

You stated yes that two USC fouls explains the spot? Explain your answer to me.

Ball should have been placed at the two repeat third down.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 01:14pm
CT1 CT1 is offline
Official & ***** Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,049
The choices on this play are:

(1) Player ruled down at 14. Count the down, penalize B half the distance. 4th and goal on the B-7.

(2) Inadvertent whistle. Down must be replayed, penalize B half the distance from the previous spot. 3rd and goal from the B-2.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 01:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3
thank you for the replies. I am actually a coach (for the offensive team) looking for clarification. We were not given any options. The referee said we would replay the down and that he would mark off the distance for the UC penalty.

The head coach of the defensive team is throwing a fit about the play. We threw an interception on the next play anyways, so I think they caught a break as well.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 19, 2011, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by CT1 View Post
The choices on this play are:

(1) Player ruled down at 14. Count the down, penalize B half the distance. 4th and goal on the B-7.

(2) Inadvertent whistle. Down must be replayed, penalize B half the distance from the previous spot. 3rd and goal from the B-2.
Ah, I see your point (and tomes's). Of course if we replay the down, it won't be from the B14, and the basic spot for USC is the succeeding spot (in this case, the B4). Yep, there's probably a goof in this enforcement: sounds as if the crew regarded the B14 as the succeeding spot, enforced 2 USC fouls, then applied the IW provisions to replay the down.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proper Mechanic Clark Kent Basketball 27 Thu Nov 13, 2008 05:33pm
Proper Appeals harmbu Baseball 6 Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:29pm
What's the proper administration? bcooley66 Basketball 25 Tue Dec 30, 2003 05:49pm
Proper Mechanics stewcall Basketball 8 Mon Jan 06, 2003 03:50pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1