The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2011, 09:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
There's a rule regarding choosing the spot of the ball for a place kick used as a free kick. The rules makers know how to write restrictions, so why isn't it enough for you that their silence on this matter means there's no restriction?
But there is a restriction. The kicker may cross the neutral zone when he kicks the ball, but otherwise no encroachment is permitted during a free kick. To pick up the ball would constitute encroachment.

Your ignoring this restriction does not render it silent.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2011, 06:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
But there is a restriction. The kicker may cross the neutral zone when he kicks the ball, but otherwise no encroachment is permitted during a free kick. To pick up the ball would constitute encroachment.
K is also permitted a holder who may be in the neutral zone. If the holder were to stand over the ball and then toss it back for it to be used as a drop kick, would the holder then still be encroaching?

What if the holder tosses it back and then moves backwards to a point between the 40 and the drop kick location? Or to a point completely behind the ball and kicker? What if he does these things before the RFP? (This last one is obviously legal.)

I'm mentioning these because with as much press as these things get, it is just a matter of time before you find it happening in your own games. If you don't discuss them in your associations, and make clear what your enforcement will be until it's in the case book, you'll end up with Dwight Shrute on your sideline busting the play because "he thought" something that wasn't correct.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 25, 2011, 10:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by jchamp View Post
K is also permitted a holder who may be in the neutral zone. If the holder were to stand over the ball and then toss it back for it to be used as a drop kick, would the holder then still be encroaching?
I agree that these kicks need to be addressed. I also recognize the exception allowed for a holder to encroach without penalty.

However, a holder by definition holds the ball, and his permission to encroach covers only the holding of the ball: he may not be a runner or passer. So, no, I don't regard the play you reference as legal.

As I read the rule, once the ball is placed on a tee, the next legal touch by K must either be a hold or a kick. Intentionally removing the ball from the tee is not legal.

When NFHS revises rule 6 and makes these kicks either clearly legal or clearly illegal, or when I get definitive guidance from the state, I will be happy to conform to that rule or guidance.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 24, 2011, 10:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
But there is a restriction. The kicker may cross the neutral zone when he kicks the ball, but otherwise no encroachment is permitted during a free kick. To pick up the ball would constitute encroachment.
Only if putting it down to begin with is also!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 25, 2011, 10:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Only if putting it down to begin with is also!
Wrong again, as the neutral zone does not exist then.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 08:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Wrong again, as the neutral zone does not exist then.
Doesn't it exist as soon as the ball is ready for play?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 08:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Doesn't it exist as soon as the ball is ready for play?
Yes it does. But you asked whether it was encroachment while a player was setting the ball on the tee. And at that time the ball is NOT ready for play, and the NZ does not exist.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Sep 26, 2011, 10:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron View Post
Yes it does. But you asked whether it was encroachment while a player was setting the ball on the tee. And at that time the ball is NOT ready for play, and the NZ does not exist.
How do you know the ball isn't ready for play? The ball being on the tee has nothing to do with it being ready for play.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Drop Kick wisref2 Football 7 Wed Oct 13, 2010 09:36am
Drop kick BigFarns Football 8 Wed Oct 05, 2005 04:57pm
Drop third strike reed2310 Softball 11 Sun Jun 09, 2002 05:36pm
Drop 3rd w/ Runner on 1st BlueGhost_Scout Baseball 2 Wed Apr 03, 2002 08:24am
Drop Kick Smoke Football 6 Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:27pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1