![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
If it is considered that this play might be legal (ignoring the possible offside by the kid who starts it off), then perhaps we should take it to its absurd conclusion. How much of this messing about with throwing the ball from player to player WOULD be allowable? Would it be allowed to be thrown backwards by A1 to A2, then forwards by A2 to A3 and then kicked? What if there were two forward "passes"? What if it was batted to the eventual kicker?
Would the only consideration be to kill the play if they exceeded the 25 second count? I'm not a Fed Rules expert, we use NCAA over here in Europe. I can't find a specific rule in my 2010 Fed book (or indeed in my NCAA book) that I could say specifically outlaws this play. But for me, common sense deems it illegal. My gut feeling is that once the ball is blown ready, if they want to drop kick it then the kid who kicks it better be the only one who handles it. But I have no rule reference to back that up.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum! |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Citation? The snapper cannot handle the (dead) ball prior to snapping it in just any manner he wishes.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
There are rules regarding motion of the ball prior to the snap. There's a rule regarding choosing the spot of the ball for a place kick used as a free kick. The rules makers know how to write restrictions, so why isn't it enough for you that their silence on this matter means there's no restriction? |
|
|||
|
I THINK (but am not 100% convinced) that a drop kick for a free kick would generally be legal... what made this one illegal was the selection of a spot on the tee, then the movement from that spot and not kicking it from that spot (close... but not THAT spot, right on the tee).
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'” West Houston Mike |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
After reading the article about the Pulaski Academy coach, I'm not surprised that he has an intimate knowledge of the rules and knows how to use every word in the book to his advantage. If the other coaches don't know the rules, that's their own fault. |
|
|||
|
On the Free Kick Line
Quote:
Rule 6 Section 1 The Kickoff and Other Free Kicks ART. 1 . . . For any free kick, a free-kick line, corresponding to a scrimmage line, is established for each team. These lines are always 10 yards apart. Unless moved by a penalty, K’s free-kick line is: a. Its 40-yard line for a kickoff. b. Its 20-yard line after a safety. c. The yard line through the spot of the catch after a fair catch. d. The yard line through the spot of an awarded fair catch. ART. 2 . . . A free kick shall be made from any point between the hash marks and on K’s free-kick line. A punt may not be used for a free kick other than after a safety. Once designated, K must kick from that spot. When a punt is used following a safety, the ball must be kicked within one step behind K’s free-kick line. In an emergency, such as a pool of water on K’s free-kick line, the referee has authority to move the ball to a playable line. in which case, both free-kick lines are moved to compensate. Last edited by golfdesigner; Sun Sep 25, 2011 at 04:31pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Your ignoring this restriction does not render it silent.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What if the holder tosses it back and then moves backwards to a point between the 40 and the drop kick location? Or to a point completely behind the ball and kicker? What if he does these things before the RFP? (This last one is obviously legal.) I'm mentioning these because with as much press as these things get, it is just a matter of time before you find it happening in your own games. If you don't discuss them in your associations, and make clear what your enforcement will be until it's in the case book, you'll end up with Dwight Shrute on your sideline busting the play because "he thought" something that wasn't correct. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
However, a holder by definition holds the ball, and his permission to encroach covers only the holding of the ball: he may not be a runner or passer. So, no, I don't regard the play you reference as legal. As I read the rule, once the ball is placed on a tee, the next legal touch by K must either be a hold or a kick. Intentionally removing the ball from the tee is not legal. When NFHS revises rule 6 and makes these kicks either clearly legal or clearly illegal, or when I get definitive guidance from the state, I will be happy to conform to that rule or guidance.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
|
Only if putting it down to begin with is also!
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Drop Kick | wisref2 | Football | 7 | Wed Oct 13, 2010 09:36am |
| Drop kick | BigFarns | Football | 8 | Wed Oct 05, 2005 04:57pm |
| Drop third strike | reed2310 | Softball | 11 | Sun Jun 09, 2002 05:36pm |
| Drop 3rd w/ Runner on 1st | BlueGhost_Scout | Baseball | 2 | Wed Apr 03, 2002 08:24am |
| Drop Kick | Smoke | Football | 6 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 09:27pm |