![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
7-5-1 and 7-5-2 refer to the position of the passer when the pass is released. They do not mention where he has been. Legal.
__________________
Cheers, mb Last edited by mbyron; Mon Aug 22, 2011 at 02:51pm. |
|
|||
|
Yeah, I found this in the NCAA rules, 7-3-2e,
ARTICLE 2. A forward pass is illegal: e. If thrown from in or behind the neutral zone after a ball carrier in possession of the ball has gone beyond the neutral zone. I was trying to figure out if NFHS's lack of similar language is meant to imply that the play I mentioned, or one in which a backwards pass from A1 who has crossed the LoS to A2 who is behind the LoS before a subsequent forward pass would be legal. I was in the U spot on a JV scrimmage Saturday with a play similar to the first post. I don't think he actually crossed, but he certainly ran backwards as if to make sure he was behind the line before heaving his throw. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Line of Scrimmage Rules? | Official | Football | 53 | Tue Sep 07, 2010 06:52pm |
| Crossing the Line | dumbref | Football | 22 | Sat Sep 13, 2008 06:44pm |
| scrimmage kick behind line | cad | Football | 9 | Fri Sep 30, 2005 03:52am |
| Questions on the line of scrimmage and lining up | devilsadvocate | Football | 4 | Tue Oct 01, 2002 10:52am |
| Illegal pass over the line of scrimmage | zebraman55 | Football | 9 | Sun Nov 11, 2001 11:19pm |