View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 22, 2011, 07:37pm
jchamp jchamp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Aggie View Post
NCAA: Illegal. Five yards and loss of down from spot.
Yeah, I found this in the NCAA rules, 7-3-2e,
ARTICLE 2. A forward pass is illegal:
e. If thrown from in or behind the neutral zone after a ball carrier in possession of the ball has gone beyond the neutral zone.

I was trying to figure out if NFHS's lack of similar language is meant to imply that the play I mentioned, or one in which a backwards pass from A1 who has crossed the LoS to A2 who is behind the LoS before a subsequent forward pass would be legal.

I was in the U spot on a JV scrimmage Saturday with a play similar to the first post. I don't think he actually crossed, but he certainly ran backwards as if to make sure he was behind the line before heaving his throw.
Reply With Quote