![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Now your just trying to open a whole new can of worms.
The consensus was the if R intentionally went OOB or realized he was OOB and then intentionally reached back in to touch the ball, then yes, that would definitely fall under the new rule. No one felt that it would apply if R was perhaps accidentally touching the side line with one foot as he fielded the ball inside "the plane".
__________________
Dan |
|
|||
|
NFHS | 2011 NFHS Football Rules Interpretations
SITUATION 3 (9.6.2): K1 free-kicks the ball toward the sideline. R1 runs to a sideline and intentionally steps out of bounds. While R1 is still out of bounds, he intentionally touches the ball as it nears the sideline. The ball is declared dead by the covering official. RULING: Illegal participation by R1. This is not a kick out of bounds as the ball was touched by an R player and the ball became dead when it was touched. (4-3-1; 6-1-8)
__________________
When my time on earth is gone, and my activities here are passed, I want they bury me upside down, and my critics can kiss my azz! Bobby Knight |
|
|||
|
If the ball is inbounds when touched by an R player who is touching oob, the R player is the one who caused the ball to be come dead. R's ball at the spot.
If R while touching oob, reaches oob and touches a kick that has broken the sideline plane, the kicker is the one who caused the ball to become dead. Flag it there and give R their options. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Of at least, that's how we've always discussed it. Never seen it happen.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Previously, NF: 2-29-3, "A loose ball is OOB when it touches anything, including a player or game official, that is OOB." Note there is no limitation or restriction as to how or why either the player or official is OOB, and in this situation the ball is clearly a "loose ball" as defined by NF: 2-1-3. It is NOT THE PLAYER who has caused the ball to become dead, rather that is caused by the loose ball touching a player who is (already) OOB, as defined by NF: 2-29-1. Considering the advantage, subsequently decided to be improper, deliberately creating this ill gotten gain, NF: 9-6-2 was adjusted to prohibit the practice and correct this imbalance. |
|
|||
|
In summary, if R is intentionally out of bounds it is illegal participation. If R is accidentally out of bounds, it is still a free kick out of bounds against K.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I love finding cans of worms to open. |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Penalty on kickoff? | buckrog64 | Football | 4 | Sat Aug 29, 2009 05:09am |
| NF Kickoff Question | jwaz | Football | 2 | Thu Oct 13, 2005 11:45am |
| kickoff | dallas | Football | 1 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:13am |
| Kickoff | Green | Football | 16 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:50pm |
| kickoff | yankeesfan | Football | 25 | Wed Aug 04, 2004 08:46pm |