The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 108
illegal..K cannot touch a free kick in flight. Kick catching interference. 15 yds from previous spot or awarded fair catch for R. Your comment about no one ( R team)in position to catch the kick only applies to scrimmage kicks in flight.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Green
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
NFHS: Kick Catching Interfence. The ball must hit the ground before K can touch the ball on a kickoff.

Now the interesting part is should we blow the whistle to kill the play when he catches it? I think you let the play run and just throw your flag.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 248
It's dead. K can't advance a kick.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 108
you blow it dead!

[Edited by SJoldguy on Sep 17th, 2004 at 01:23 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally posted by Green
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
NF: illegal
NCAA: legal

makes one wonder why.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 710
Had it last weekend but enforced it incorrectly. Went 15 from spot of catch. (it was yutes and I was trying to discourage future use of this play).

Right thing to do? Probably not.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally posted by Theisey
Quote:
Originally posted by Green
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
NF: illegal
NCAA: legal

makes one wonder why.


It happen last weekend... Northwestern did it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 68
Illegal Rule: 6-5-6

We had an entire crew miss this call. They gave the ball to K at the spot of the catch. This kind of kickoff doesn't happen very often, which is no excuse. The exception is on a punt.

On an onside kick, the covering official for the kicking team should know if the ball hits the ground first. The kicker usually tops the ball so that it hits the ground and then bounces up high so K can catch it, after it goes 10 yards.

[Edited by Green on Sep 17th, 2004 at 02:15 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I'm wondering why it's illegal. If there's no R around to catch it, why must K (other than "that's what the rule says") wait for it to hit the ground? Seems a strange rule to me.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Sep 17, 2004, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by SouthGARef
It's dead. K can't advance a kick.
Oh DUH! Thankyou for catching me
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 18, 2004, 04:54am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally posted by Green
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
Legal in Canada. During a kick-off, once the ball has travelled 10 yards, it is a live ball.

With the events specified, we have an inadvertant whistle, and by rule, the play is dead, and it's K's ball at the R-48.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 18, 2004, 10:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:
Originally posted by Green
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
NFHS: Kick Catching Interfence. The ball must hit the ground before K can touch the ball on a kickoff.

Now the interesting part is should we blow the whistle to kill the play when he catches it? I think you let the play run and just throw your flag.
Of course you blow it dead. What are you going to do, let K advance it? Ball must hit the ground first. Good idea to review kicking plays periodically with your crew.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 18, 2004, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Forksref
Quote:
Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Quote:
Originally posted by Green
Kickoff from K’s 40 yardline. K1 catches the kick in flight on R’s 48 yardline with no R players in the area. The covering official blows his whistle (being that K can not advance a kickoff) and signals K’s ball on R’s 48 yardline.

Legal or Illegal?
NFHS: Kick Catching Interfence. The ball must hit the ground before K can touch the ball on a kickoff.

Now the interesting part is should we blow the whistle to kill the play when he catches it? I think you let the play run and just throw your flag.
Of course you blow it dead. What are you going to do, let K advance it? Ball must hit the ground first. Good idea to review kicking plays periodically with your crew.
Yea yea yea I know I goofed, this would not have happened if I pictured it visually haha sorry!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sat Sep 18, 2004, 11:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,614
Quote:
Originally posted by Forksref
Of course you blow it dead. What are you going to do, let K advance it? Ball must hit the ground first. Good idea to review kicking plays periodically with your crew.
We review this one every Friday night. We've never gotten it wrong but I know others who have.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1