![]() |
|
|
|||
Penalty on kickoff?
Quick one for you but I seem to get different answers. A commits offensive pass interference on a PAT. I know they lose the right to replay the down. Is the yardage assessed on the succeeding spot for the kickoff? Nothing else to read into this, no penalty on the scoring play, none of that. If you want to expand, feel free. I'm just wondering about the yardage being marked off at the PAT for OPI. Thanks.
__________________
Be like a duck: cool and calm on the surface but paddling like the devil underneath.... |
|
|||
It would only be carried over on a scoring play. Since the OPI has previous spot enforcement, it is not carried over. If you had DPI and the receiver scored the PAT it would be carried over to the KO.
|
|
|||
One way to think of this...
The Pass Interference on A in Fed rules is 15 yards and loss of down. So the penalty would be marked 15 yards from the 3 and then the loss of the right to replay the down means that A does not get to attempt the try again. So the penalty in essence has already been enforced, there is nothing to carry over to the kickoff. I agree with the previous poster that Pass Interference, or any other foul by B on a successful PAT can always be enforced at the succeeding spot, in this case the kickoff. |
|
|||
Rule 8-3 The Try
ART. 4 . . . If during a successful try, a loss of down foul by A occurs, there is no score and no replay. ART. 5 . . . If during a successful try, a foul by B occurs, A is given the choice of: a. Accepting the penalty and replaying the down following enforcement; or b. Accepting the result of the play and enforcement of the penalty from the succeeding spot. ART. 6 . . . If during an unsuccessful try, a foul by A occurs, the penalty is obviously declined, the results of the play stand and there is no replay. If B fouls, the down is replayed after enforcement. 10-5-1-d . . . The following fouls have special enforcement provisions and options for the offended team: A foul by the opponent of the scoring team on a successful try. (see 8-3-5) I think it is pretty clear that only a foul by B carries over if it occurs DURING a successful try.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
![]() Quote:
You didn't mention if the try was caught for a TD. OPI on an unsuccessful convert does not have an option to repeat the convert. L15 on the ensuing kick-off. OPI on a successful convert is: (a) repeat the convert from the B5 and back 15 on the KO, or (b) back 15 on the repeated convert.
__________________
Pope Francis |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kickoff coverage | Forksref | Football | 1 | Sat Jun 17, 2006 06:02am |
kickoff | dallas | Football | 1 | Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:13am |
Kickoff | Green | Football | 16 | Sat Sep 18, 2004 12:50pm |
kickoff | yankeesfan | Football | 25 | Wed Aug 04, 2004 08:46pm |
pouch kickoff | ccbestul | Football | 13 | Sun Jun 30, 2002 01:44am |