The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2010, 02:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder View Post
Not necessarily. A8 could be ineligible because he went out of bounds and came back - but in that case is not an ineligble player downfield. Also, not sure on Fed, but if the player is behind the LOS when the pass is released, then catches it 5 yards downfield, you don't have ineligible downfield, do you? (Not that it matters, for the reason you stated).

PS - I'd have a flag down for both... one immediately when the ball crossed the neutral zone - another when it touched him. And I'd report both fouls. Agreed that it doesn't matter, but we've been told multiple times to flag multiple fouls where we have multiple fouls, with the exception of simultaneous offsetting fouls (1 flag on 2 guys punching each other for example) or simultaneous at-the-snap fouls (two defenders in the neutral zone, or 1 defender and illegal formation or motion).
If I am not mistaken, running out of bounds does NOT make the receiver ineligible. Players that are eligible at the beginning of the down remain eligible throughout the down. This player that ran out of bounds would be guilty of illegal participation if he were the first to touch the forward pass, not illegal touching. Therefore, the A8 player must have been ineligible by position as his jersey number is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 03, 2010, 02:51pm
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by patalia View Post
This player that ran out of bounds would be guilty of illegal participation if he were the first to touch the forward pass, not illegal touching.
The player would be guilty of IP as soon as he returned inbounds.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 42
Could you ever have a situation where Illegal Touching occurs during a running play (instead of a loose ball play)?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by PocketSidewalk View Post
Could you ever have a situation where Illegal Touching occurs during a running play (instead of a loose ball play)?
No.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2010, 03:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
NCAA ruling: 5 yards from the previous spot on both rulings. No loss of down. Had this play earlier this year.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal touching on a Try john_faz Football 3 Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:34pm
Stupid Question - Illegal Touching TussAgee11 Football 9 Wed Jan 21, 2009 06:30pm
Illegal Participation, Illegal Touching, Nothing BoBo Football 13 Thu Nov 01, 2007 02:09pm
Enforcement spot illegal touching Kentucky Basketball Football 8 Fri Sep 21, 2007 09:44am
Enforcement of Illegal Touching By an OL foureyesallbad Football 11 Tue Oct 31, 2006 09:58am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1