The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 02:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Suppose the neutral zone is set, and team A is playing without huddling. A1, returning from B's side of B's line of scrimmage, stops at a point where he's still encroaching. The wing official says, "Here's your line of scrimmage" and points, and A1 stands offside and drools. A's snapper isn't over the ball yet, but is getting there. At what point do you kill the play in Fed?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 06:28pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
Same as you do it when the defense lines up in the neutral zone in FED... kill it just before the snap.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 10, 2009, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Goodman View Post
Suppose the neutral zone is set, and team A is playing without huddling. A1, returning from B's side of B's line of scrimmage, stops at a point where he's still encroaching. The wing official says, "Here's your line of scrimmage" and points, and A1 stands offside and drools. A's snapper isn't over the ball yet, but is getting there. At what point do you kill the play in Fed?
(just like if the D lined up offside) I would give him ample time to move back. If he did not, I will blow it dead and call them for encroachment.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 13, 2009, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 48
Send a message via MSN to ML99 Send a message via Skype™ to ML99
I had a situation - REC lined up far in the neutral zone and didn't listen to me to step back.

1) what would you do in this case - if the player doesn't listen to you? kill the play before the snap? flag it?

2) what to do if the player readjusts and moves back - at the same time the snaps starts.

3) what to do if the player readjusts and moves back - at the same time the snaps starts + another player is in motion

I threw a flag since the play started and he was 1-2 yrds in the neutral zone at the snap. When I reported to the HR he asked me for the foul and I told him enchroachment Offense. He replyed "why didn't you kill the play before the snap - we can't give them a penalty now after the play is over".
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 13, 2009, 11:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
1. Depends on the level, but for varsity I'd kill it before or at the snap.
2. Assuming he's out of the NZ, legal.
3. I would not flag illegal motion the first time that happened, but talk to him. I won't get him for the motion because he's doing what I told him to do. If it keeps happening you'd have to get it.

Your white hat wasn't entirely correct, but I get what he was driving at. If you let the play go, you can't then call encroachment, which is a dead-ball foul. But he could still have signaled illegal motion or formation or something to penalize the foul and gone on from there.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 13, 2009, 11:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ste. Genevieve, MO
Posts: 68
encroachment

Quote:
Originally Posted by ML99 View Post
1) what would you do in this case - if the player doesn't listen to you? kill the play before the snap? flag it?

2) what to do if the player readjusts and moves back - at the same time the snaps starts.
I had a play like #1) last night....several times. WR lines up in the neutral zone, then turns his head and points at me, then quickly looks back to the line of scrimmage without even waiting to see what I'd say / signal...so he didn't have a chance to see me telling him to back up. I killed the play right before the snap and threw the flag on him for encroachment.

I had play #2) earlier in the year, but didn't call it...I was on the defensive sideline, right in front of the coach, so he went ape when I told the receiver to back up and he was backing up at the snap. I looked up the rule and discussed it here online and basically decided it was a good no-call since he was moving backwards at the snap. Technically though, he should have been five yards deep at the snap to be legal.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 12:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by ML99 View Post
I had a situation - REC lined up far in the neutral zone and didn't listen to me to step back.

1) what would you do in this case - if the player doesn't listen to you? kill the play before the snap? flag it?

2) what to do if the player readjusts and moves back - at the same time the snaps starts.

3) what to do if the player readjusts and moves back - at the same time the snaps starts + another player is in motion

I threw a flag since the play started and he was 1-2 yrds in the neutral zone at the snap. When I reported to the HR he asked me for the foul and I told him enchroachment Offense. He replyed "why didn't you kill the play before the snap - we can't give them a penalty now after the play is over".
1) Kill it and flag it.

2) If he was set for 1 sec, then ok. If not, it's an illegal shift.

3) If another player is CLEARLY in motion, then I'd flag it for illegal shift. If another player is just starting his motion, I would probably let it go.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 08:22am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
1) Kill it and flag it.

2) If he was set for 1 sec, then ok. If not, it's an illegal shift.

3) If another player is CLEARLY in motion, then I'd flag it for illegal shift. If another player is just starting his motion, I would probably let it go.
If I'm telling another player to move back, it's unlikely I'm then going to flag him for an illegal motion or illegal shift. No impossible, but unlikely.

This is less likely to happen on a varsity game than during a JV/Freshman/Youth game.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 10:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by bossman72 View Post
1) Kill it and flag it.

2) If he was set for 1 sec, then ok. If not, it's an illegal shift.

3) If another player is CLEARLY in motion, then I'd flag it for illegal shift. If another player is just starting his motion, I would probably let it go.
I like mbryon answers to this... I just think your booger picking here... he tried to readjust.. let it go and talk to the player afterwards.
__________________
"My greatest fear is that when I die, my wife will sell my golf clubs for what I told her I paid for them."
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 08:06am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Rfp

If he is in the NZ at the RFP it is considered encroachment by rule.
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 08:21am
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,797
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
If he is in the NZ at the RFP it is considered encroachment by rule.
100% on the test.

Now in real life....
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 08:23am
Ref Ump Welsch
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Refsmitty View Post
If he is in the NZ at the RFP it is considered encroachment by rule.
Even before the snapper puts his hand(s) on the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 14, 2009, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 280
Rfp

Once the RFP whistle has blown - it is encroachment
__________________
Refsmitty
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Encroachment swkansasref33 Football 6 Mon Sep 24, 2007 02:19pm
Encroachment Redneck Ref Football 3 Tue Aug 30, 2005 12:30pm
Encroachment? Texoma_LJ Football 2 Sun Sep 12, 2004 12:46pm
ENCROACHMENT OF R FOR KICKOFF MRIGUY Football 5 Wed Sep 08, 2004 03:15pm
Encroachment Smiley Football 4 Fri Jul 18, 2003 03:44pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1