Quote:
Originally Posted by ML99
1) what would you do in this case - if the player doesn't listen to you? kill the play before the snap? flag it?
2) what to do if the player readjusts and moves back - at the same time the snaps starts.
|
I had a play like #1) last night....several times. WR lines up in the neutral zone, then turns his head and points at me, then quickly looks back to the line of scrimmage without even waiting to see what I'd say / signal...so he didn't have a chance to see me telling him to back up. I killed the play right before the snap and threw the flag on him for encroachment.
I had play #2) earlier in the year, but didn't call it...I was on the defensive sideline, right in front of the coach, so he went ape when I told the receiver to back up and he was backing up at the snap. I looked up the rule and discussed it here online and basically decided it was a good no-call since he was moving backwards at the snap. Technically though, he should have been five yards deep at the snap to be legal.