The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 10:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 133
A is making their normal substitutions and WH marks ball ready for play. Member of A in trying to gett of the field crosses the neutral zome as he is heading off to his sidelines. Rule 2-8 allows for a substitute to cross the neutral zone in getting on the field, but what about when leaving the field ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 84
2.8 states "Encroachment occurs when a player..." 2.30.1 gives the definition of a player. It goes on to say that a player continues to be a player until a substitute enters the field and indicates to the player that he is replaced, or when the substitute otherwise becomes a player.
My take on this would be that, since by definition the person going off is not a player that the same thing would apply as a substitute coming onto the field.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Sep 12, 2004, 12:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Alabama
Posts: 226
2-30-12 talks about when a player becomes a replaced player. If he is no longer a player, he can no longer encroach. The entering substitute may have already technically become a player prior to crossing the neutral zone. He may have communicated with an official or a teammate. But for encroachment purposes, he is still considered a substitute until he crosses the neutral zone.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1