The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 01:26pm
Official Forum Member

Question Responding to sideline / bleacher chatter

I'm in my second year at the high school level and working the HL position. One thing I have trouble with is when I see a foul (e.g. a block in the back or facemask), sometimes I'll hesitate for a second or two before I throw my flag...like I've heard that you should do. But where I run into problems is when I'm going through that split-second decision time of whether I saw a foul for sure and if I should throw my flag, someone from the sideline or the stands will yell, "That's a block in the back!!" or "Facemask!". It pisses me off and makes me not want to throw my flag...especially since I don't want it to appear as if I'm throwing my flag in response to their shouts...I'm afraid that will just invite more of the same.

I know I should just call what I see, but what are your thoughts on how you mentally deal with that issue?
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 01:35pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via Yahoo to umpirebob71
Ignore them. Do not ever not throw your flag because they yelled and "pissed you off." That's quick way to a short end. Ignore them, ignore them, ignore them, ignore them. Are you starting to get the idea to ignore them?
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 01:39pm
Official Forum Member

Agreed, you really just need to relax and go through your progression. Watch your key at the snap, follow your responsibilities during the play and if you see a foul committed that needs to be penalized, throw the flag.

If you're only in your second year, everything is still probably happening very quickly. As you gain more experience, the game will slow down and you will barely even hear the coaches and fans.
Old Tue Sep 29, 2009, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member

how it happened

Quote: