![]() |
|
|||
2-34-3: A change of possession occurs when the opponent gains player possession during the down. The penalty says if there is no change of team possession
PENALTY says: 15 yards and a first down from end of last run when last run ends beyond the neutral zone and there has been no change of team possession, or otherwise 15 yards and first down from previous spot Absent any verbiage in the rule that would support some "point in time" theory, we have to assume change of possession as occuring at some point during the down. Therefore, if B gains possession DURING THE DOWN, penalty is enforced from the previous spot. If A had not fumbled (a bad thing) and allowed B to get it (an even worse thing), they would have gotten the foul from the end of their run.
__________________
Mike Sears |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
a 'ticky tack' face mask (?) | PSU213 | Football | 1 | Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:04am |
Ticky Tack ... or not?? | jmaellis | Basketball | 24 | Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:44am |
Complete Disrespect | kristal_15 | Basketball | 22 | Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:22am |
pass complete? | Snake~eyes | Football | 8 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 03:26pm |
COMPLETE | whiskers_ump | Softball | 5 | Sun Jun 10, 2001 10:13pm |