![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
The number of COPs (greater than 0) is irrelevant to enforcement. That is, if you've got at least one, it's previous spot. The interpretative confusion you seem to think exists is nonsensical.
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Suppose it were an "ordinary" foul by the defense such as a personal foul or illegal use of hands on a running play. The enforcement would be from the end of the run. Why would the penalty for RTP be any less advantageous? The foul occurs while the ball is loose, so the rules makers wanted to allow an equivalent sort of advantage by allowing the non-fouling team to complete the pass and advance before the penalty is considered. Loss of the ball subsequent to such an advance wouldn't affect the enforcement spot any more than it would subsequent to a run during which a foul by the defense occurred. Robert |
|
|||
I agree with the group about what the rule says,
It was July 2005 in Columbia MO, I've moved twice since then and had some sacramental wine, but I remember the interpreter explaining something like, "The purpose of the special enforcement is to allow the offense to keep any yardage they gain by completing a pass when there is roughing. To take away that yardage as a result of a subsequent turnover violates the intent of the rule." I agree with mbyron about the letter of the law, but I am sympathetic with the interpreter's spirit of the law. |
|
|||
Robert, the language of the rule is not as complicated as you make it out to be.
Read it again, it is very straight forward. Quote:
BOTH of these conditions must be met. If there has been a change of team possession, regardless of the number of changes in team possession or whom is in possession of the ball at the end of the down, then BOTH conditions have not been met.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
|
|||
Quote:
To read it your way would mean that a change of possession following the end of the run would affect the spot of enforcement, which is downright silly. It wouldn't change the spot for an ordinary foul by the defense, so why would it affect RTP? Just read in isolation "when last run ends beyond the neutral zone and there has been no change of team possession" and it should be clear that "when" refers to a point in time. Otherwise they could've written "if". The "and" is subsidiary to the "when", not equal to it. Also, if it "no change in possession" referred to the entire down, they would've written "was", not "has been". "Has been" shows they meant to refer to the condition at the time the last run ended. Robert |
|
|||
Robert,
I believe no change in team possession is pretty simple English to understand. There can be no change of TP during the down. If the rulesmakers wanted it "translated" in the manner you are stating, I would think they would use entirely different language like "and the passing team has final possesion at the end of the down" or somesuch as they have used similarly for other rules within the book. That way it would not matter how many times TP changed. This however, is pretty simple. In an A-B-A situation, A's choice becomes accept the results of the play or enforce from the previous spot.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
Quote:
Robert |
|
|||
Quote:
I've already explained a possible rationale for this reading: RTP occurs after a legal pass. If the pass is completed, it maximizes the penalty (and therefore the disincentive to RTP) to make the end of the run the enforcement spot. If, however, the offense screws up, for instance by turning the ball over after a completed pass, then they're not entitled to the extra yardage. Previous spot. Do you have a comparable rationale for your interpretation?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
BTW, in rugby many referees are practically cruel to the defense in the amount of opportunity to gain an advantage by the attacking side they'll allow before calling a penalty on the defense, and it can be said this reduces the defense's incentive. However, if the penalty's called it still goes back to the spot of the foul, so that can't be used as a comparable example. Robert |
|
|||
2-34-3: A change of possession occurs when the opponent gains player possession during the down. The penalty says if there is no change of team possession
PENALTY says: 15 yards and a first down from end of last run when last run ends beyond the neutral zone and there has been no change of team possession, or otherwise 15 yards and first down from previous spot Absent any verbiage in the rule that would support some "point in time" theory, we have to assume change of possession as occuring at some point during the down. Therefore, if B gains possession DURING THE DOWN, penalty is enforced from the previous spot. If A had not fumbled (a bad thing) and allowed B to get it (an even worse thing), they would have gotten the foul from the end of their run.
__________________
Mike Sears |
|
|||
I agree with Mike. The rule is fairly cut and dried. I would not try and twist it around too much.
I think this play was in the 97-98 Case Book when the rule was changed to add RTP onto the end of the run, but I cannot find my old case books (5 moves and they have strangely disappeared). |
|
|||
Then on what basis do you think the cited MO interpreter decided it mattered only if it was before A's run beyond the NZ?
|
|
|||
Quote:
I will say again, the text is clear. The two statements are independent of each other. In a text requiring precise language and definitions (a rule book), it is illogical to me, to put an order or sequence on the events without the appropriate language indiciating that such order exists. It would be similar to me saying that in order to hit a golf ball, you have to have both a ball and a club. The order in which you obtain these two things is irrelevant, but you must have both in order to do it. Likewise, for end of the run enforcement on RTP, you must have both of those conditions met but the order in which they occur is irrelevant.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
a 'ticky tack' face mask (?) | PSU213 | Football | 1 | Sun Nov 04, 2007 12:04am |
Ticky Tack ... or not?? | jmaellis | Basketball | 24 | Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:44am |
Complete Disrespect | kristal_15 | Basketball | 22 | Wed Jan 12, 2005 10:22am |
pass complete? | Snake~eyes | Football | 8 | Fri Oct 31, 2003 03:26pm |
COMPLETE | whiskers_ump | Softball | 5 | Sun Jun 10, 2001 10:13pm |