The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 13, 2009, 11:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 178
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmc View Post
"Some days are diamonds, some days are stones." I think the same might apply to the administration of rules. Long, long ago the decision was made that only one live ball foul could be charged against the same team, during the same down.

One size NEVER fits ALL situations, equally as well.
Agreed. Another hypothetical situation similar to this:

1st down on A's 10 yardline. A80 catches a pass over the middle, hits a seam, and begins streaking downfield. He's being pursued by B24 and B25.

A88 joins the pack and illegally blocks B24 in the back at the B20 yardline. The BJ throws the flag, and B25 recognizes what the flag is for.

Let's say A80 is running out of gas and B25 can now make the tackle. In this case, the "smart" play for B25 is to tackle A80 by the facemask, right? Because if he makes a regular (clean) tackle at the B10 yardline, Team A will get teh ball at the B30--for a net gain of 60 yards.

But if B commits a live ball foul, they offset and by rule the down is replayed--back at the A10 yardline.

(Note: I'm in Mass., where we use NCAA rules, but I don't think there's an NFHS difference here.)

Granted, this situation will rarely, if ever, arise. But it still strikes me as a bit funny, in that it can behoove a team to commit a foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jul 14, 2009, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,920
Quote:
Originally Posted by chymechowder View Post
Agreed. Another hypothetical situation similar to this:

1st down on A's 10 yardline. A80 catches a pass over the middle, hits a seam, and begins streaking downfield. He's being pursued by B24 and B25.

A88 joins the pack and illegally blocks B24 in the back at the B20 yardline. The BJ throws the flag, and B25 recognizes what the flag is for.

Let's say A80 is running out of gas and B25 can now make the tackle. In this case, the "smart" play for B25 is to tackle A80 by the facemask, right? Because if he makes a regular (clean) tackle at the B10 yardline, Team A will get teh ball at the B30--for a net gain of 60 yards.

But if B commits a live ball foul, they offset and by rule the down is replayed--back at the A10 yardline.

(Note: I'm in Mass., where we use NCAA rules, but I don't think there's an NFHS difference here.)

Granted, this situation will rarely, if ever, arise. But it still strikes me as a bit funny, in that it can behoove a team to commit a foul.
But there's a way of solving this problem if the rules makers had the will. If penalty choices were presented and resolved in the order of the occurrence of the live ball fouls, then B would accept the penalty for A's illegal block from the spot of the foul (being behind the end of the run), which would then become the spot for enforcement of the penalty for B's subsequent foul.

Robert in the Bronx
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
double foul? jr Basketball 21 Wed Dec 19, 2007 03:02pm
Double Foul??? DrMooreReferee Football 8 Fri Oct 26, 2007 03:21pm
Double foul Gmoore Basketball 8 Fri Jan 28, 2005 05:12pm
Double Foul ? dsimp8 Basketball 6 Fri Jan 31, 2003 05:46pm
double foul? RX Ref Basketball 3 Thu Feb 28, 2002 04:47pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1