![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
1) Snap Infraction (Which is in reality a dead ball foul) 2) As soon as the ball is snapped for The "Where's the Tee" play that Ed mentioned above. Quote:
However, is it possible that this certified official actually blew a false start dead? Restated, did the motion man turn upfield before the snap? If so this is a false start and he would have been correct if he blew the play dead!
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Dead ball fouls such as false start and snap infraction cannot be corrected. Once a snap is improper it cannot be re-done or undone. Same with a false start. Fouls that occur with the snap can be corrected before the snap. Motion that is seemingly illegal, the player has the opportunity to reset for that second before the snap. An illegal formation can be corrected up until one second before the snap. I did mention killing the "where's the puck" play because if you let the play continue to the end and say a touchdown is scored, you will be in deep sneakers because a USC, by rule, is enforced for the succeeding spot, therefore, the offense will be rewarded for their bad conduct. Lastly, what the experienced official may have blown dead was a false start by the initial motion of the player, or, it could have simply been a mistake. It happens. |
|
|||
Not quite sure what you meant by this. A motion man turning upfield is illegal motion; however, if his action causes a defensive player to encroach, it becomes a false start (7-1-7b).
|
|
|||
I would say it depends entirely on whether the turn is determined to simulate action at the snap. Very little is gained by allowing a quick turn upfield to continue. It's better to shut it down and let them try again with an add'l 5 yds to go.
__________________
Indecision may or may not be my problem |
|
|||
After further review...
Quote:
My point was it may be possible what Brandon is interpreting as a "Certified Official" shutting down an illegal motion play was in reality shut down due to a False Start. I wasn't there, if I was I could tell you exactly what happend. For, as most all of us know, for a motion man to turn up field prior to the snap is NOT initself a reason to shut down a play (unless he encroaches) if the action of the motion man does in any way simulate action at the snap and/or causes B to encroach, the play should be shut down as a False Start. For what it is is worth, it may have been more productive if this conversation would have occured between Brandon and the "Experianced Certified Official" at the time, at half-time, in the locker room, at the bar, or on the phone. It most certainly should occur between Brandon and his mentor. ![]()
__________________
"Knowledge is Good" - Emil Faber ![]() Last edited by KWH; Tue May 26, 2009 at 06:14pm. Reason: I screwed up! |
|
|||
Quote:
When in doubt -- when its on the offense -- shut it down. That's how we do it, anyway. The last thing I want to do is bring back a TD and most coaches aren't going to know which fouls are dead balls and which ones are live. I'll deal with the ones that do by saying something like, "Coach, if we missed that play (as far as not letting it happen) there wasn't any harm to your team absent your total speculation on what might have happened -- plus, nobody got hurt since we killed it." He's going to concede the latter point. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Dead ball fouls | kytank | Football | 10 | Wed Oct 08, 2008 02:24pm |
Dead ball fouls prior to the snap | kentref | Football | 7 | Thu Sep 07, 2006 11:49am |
Dead Ball Fouls | mvp2jeter | Football | 4 | Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:13am |
marking off 2 dead ball fouls | otis3zeb | Football | 5 | Tue Sep 09, 2003 07:52am |
Dead ball fouls and clock | Warrenkicker | Football | 13 | Thu Aug 21, 2003 01:11am |