The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2009, 11:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
Translation issues

Hello, everybody,

as some might remember, I'm from Brazil and I'm in the process of translating the NCAA rules to portuguese for use in the country.
Right now I'm on the rule 6 and I just found an issue that I'd like to clarify so I don't make the wrong interpretation.

Rule 6-1-3-a-3 says

a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:

3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B's restraining line.

I understand that has no effect over an onside kick try since Team A becomes eligible to receive the kick after it has crossed Team B's restraining line. But Rule 6-1-2-g says

No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.

Does that really means that on an onside kick try, Team A players have to wait for the ball to cross the line so they can block Team B and attempt a recovery of the kick?


I'll be posting more questions as I have them on the translation process.
Thanks for the help

Last edited by dvasques; Fri Feb 20, 2009 at 11:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 12:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
Hello, everybody,

as some might remember, I'm from Brazil and I'm in the process of translating the NCAA rules to portuguese for use in the country.
Right now I'm on the rule 6 and I just found an issue that I'd like to clarify so I don't make the wrong interpretation.

Rule 6-1-3-a-3 says

a. No Team A player may touch a free-kicked ball until after:

3. It touches any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B's restraining line.

I understand that has no effect over an onside kick try since Team A becomes eligible to receive the kick after it has crossed Team B's restraining line. But Rule 6-1-2-g says

No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.

Does that really means that on an onside kick try, Team A players have to wait for the ball to cross the line so they can block Team B and attempt a recovery of the kick?
Remember that there's another way for team A to become eligible to touch the free kicked ball: first touching of the ball by B, regardless of where.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 01:22am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
yes, but that still doesn't clear what I thought was the rule.
I thought that once the ball touched the ground (right after the kick) every player would be eligible to touch the ball and therefore Team A would be able to block Team B.

I know... the ball touching the ground wouldn't make Team A eligible to recover the kick, but I thought it would at least allow them to block Team B.

Am I wrong on this?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 03:01am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
although I have had an insight while translating the Fair Catch rules, I'd still love for someone to clarify my doubts on my previous posts.

But I have now realized that the tactics of free kicking the ball into the ground so it can bunce up in the air on onside kicks might have to do with taking away the option of a Team B fair catch
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 08:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
The eligibility of a team A player to touch or recover the free kick has nothing to do with blocking an opponent from getting to the ball.

Team A players could block B players and interfere with their getting the ball until it has gone 10 yds. wherein the A players could then recover it. (after it has touched the ground AND gone 10 yds.)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 08:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
The eligibility of a team A player to touch or recover the free kick has nothing to do with blocking an opponent from getting to the ball.

Team A players could block B players and interfere with their getting the ball until it has gone 10 yds. wherein the A players could then recover it. (after it has touched the ground AND gone 10 yds.)
The rules are saying otherwise. That's where my doubt is. Rule 6-1-2-g says no Team A player may block an oponent until Team A is eligible to touch the ball.
And rule 6-1-3-a says Team A becomes eligible when Team B touches the ball; the ball breaks the plan and remains beyound Team B restraining line or; the ball touches the any player, the ground, an official or anything beyond Team B restraining line.

Which, in my understanding, means Team A can't block Team B until the ball travels 10 yards.

My first thought, when I read Rule 6-1-3-a, was that maybe it was supposed to read like this:
The ball touches any player, the ground or an official. Or touches anything beyond 10 yeard. But that's not the case because Team A doesn't become eligible if a Team A player touches the ball before it travels 10 yards.
Then I came to the conclusion that Team A can't block Team B on an onside kick until the ball travels 10 yards
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 11:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
No Team A player may block an opponent until Team A is eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.

Does that really means that on an onside kick try, Team A players have to wait for the ball to cross the line so they can block Team B and attempt a recovery of the kick?
Yes it does. If you are working 7 man, you should each have a man or two that you are focusing on to make sure they don't get blocked early.

Last edited by Sonofanump; Sat Feb 21, 2009 at 12:09pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 21, 2009, 02:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sonofanump View Post
Yes it does.
Rule reference?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 08:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 289
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
Rule reference?
6-1-2-h & all of 6-1-3a thru c.

What am I missing here?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 23, 2009, 09:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 244
Quote:
Does that really means that on an onside kick try, Team A players have to wait for the ball to cross the line so they can block Team B and attempt a recovery of the kick?
Yes it really does mean that!!

Of course if Team B touch it before 10yds then Team A can recover and also can now legally block

It was a Rule change made in the early 1990's(??) due to one College teams onside kick play. I believe it was Hawaii(??) who had an onside kick play where the kicker would kick the ball and as it bobbled forward the other 10 Team A guys would surround it blocking Team B out of the way until it had gone 10yds when the kicker would fall on it. Usually only a handful of Team B players up front so it was 10 against 2 or 3 and the play was nearly always succesful. This Rule change made that tactic illegal. I'm sure I recall a BigTen official coming over to the UK to our Annual British Clinic back then and explaining the reasoning behind this Rule change.

I actually had this foul happen to my crew yesterday over here in the UK in a British College game and today I read a forum post about it, how wierd is that?
Definitely a Twilight Zone moment ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NzlG28B-R8Y )


Judging by the Rules references that Forksref is giving, he is looking at the Fed rulebook, so I guess he missed that dvasques is talking about NCAA Rules.
__________________
Sorry Death, you lose.... It was Professor Plum!

Last edited by With_Two_Flakes; Mon Feb 23, 2009 at 09:19am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:06am
Archaic Power Monger
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5,983
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forksref View Post
I don't know where you are getting your rule citations because there is no 6-1-3a or 6-1-2g.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvasques View Post
Hello, everybody,

I'm from Brazil and I'm in the process of translating the NCAA rules to portuguese for use in the country.
__________________
Even if you’re on the right track, you’ll get run over if you just sit there. - Will Rogers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 22, 2009, 12:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 109
NCAA Rulebook I downloaded from NCAA.org
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AAU Issues AZ_REF Basketball 20 Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09pm
Money issues Ohioref3 Football 5 Fri Nov 11, 2005 05:26pm
2 issues PSU213 Football 2 Sat Sep 18, 2004 02:02pm
Two issues MOFFICIAL Basketball 5 Fri Jan 09, 2004 07:45pm
Translation Please APHP Basketball 11 Tue Jan 29, 2002 09:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1