The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Football
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 12, 2009, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,593
I think the current language of NF 9.2.3.d; "A defensive player shall not (d) contact an eligible receiver who is no longer a potential blocker.", is perfectly clear, and places the primary decision factor exactly where it belongs, in the hands of the covering official who is observing the action.

There shouldn't be any confusion for the covering official about it being perfectly legal for B to run through A2, to make a play on the Runner (A1), or contact to A2 being a foul should he turn away from B, in any direction, including back towards the LOS, as long as the change in direction removes the threat of blocking.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA Rule 8-5-H EFFECT Example Welpe Softball 7 Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:23pm
when does the look-back-rule go into effect after a hit batter BuggBob Softball 17 Wed May 07, 2008 01:01pm
NCAA BOO effect CecilOne Softball 10 Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am
Force Still In Effect? chuckfan1 Baseball 17 Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm
Did It effect the Play? PeteBooth Baseball 10 Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1