![]() |
|
|
|||
We had a long discussion/argument on this play in a clinic last year. From a film clip, QB A1 is rolling right. Back A2 is heading out to the flat in advance of A1. Defensive player B1, on his way to tackle A1, goes through back A2. A2 was not attempting to block B1 and B1 was not really trying to impede A2, he just had to go through him to get to the runner.
According to the interpreter, this should be called on B1. I disagree as did many others. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
A2 was about 5 to 7 yards away from A1. I think he was running a route but I don't think B was trying to figure that out. B just was trying to get to A1 and pushed A2 aside in an attempt. This all happened at or behind the line.
In this play B was not trying to disrupt or hinder A2's route, he was going for the runner and A2 was in the way. The question is does this rule give a potential receiver special rights to run an unimpeded route or not? Some of us said "no" and some thought "yes". The interpreter said "yes", but I honestly think he's wrong on this one. As long as a player is between a defender and the runner, he is a potential blocker, even if he's looking back to the runner. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() B is allowed to push an A out of the way to get to the runner and in that case A is actually a blocker as he is impeding the path to the runner. I would think of it as a screen in basketball. |
|
|||
Quote:
Ed: a defensive player can push an opponent to get to the ball or runner as long as it's not illegal use of hands, which is the play in question. Last edited by kdf5; Thu Mar 05, 2009 at 10:54am. |
|
|||
Quote:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cfOXJHkFxwc
__________________
Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it. ![]() Last edited by dumbref; Thu Mar 05, 2009 at 02:26pm. Reason: Added link |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
You might suggest your interpreter review NF: 2.3.5.b which indicates a defensive player may also: (b) "Push, pull or ward off an opponent in an actual attempt to get at the runner or a loose ball if such contact is not pass interference, a personal foul or illegal use of the hands.
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
ASA Rule 8-5-H EFFECT Example | Welpe | Softball | 7 | Thu Jun 19, 2008 07:23pm |
when does the look-back-rule go into effect after a hit batter | BuggBob | Softball | 17 | Wed May 07, 2008 01:01pm |
NCAA BOO effect | CecilOne | Softball | 10 | Tue Mar 07, 2006 09:35am |
Force Still In Effect? | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 17 | Thu Nov 10, 2005 06:54pm |
Did It effect the Play? | PeteBooth | Baseball | 10 | Thu Feb 15, 2001 05:11pm |